Double Ram - Noticeable difference?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by d-m-a-x, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. d-m-a-x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #1
    I was hoping for a new tower, but i'll give apple the benefit of the doubt before the big break-up (may need some marriage counseling though).

    I just ordered 8 gigs of ddr2 667mhz - that will bring me to a total of 14 gigs.
    I am hopin my Camera Raw files will rez up faster when tethered into Capture One. After that i may get an ssd drive, although i don't want to put too much money into a relic of 2006.

    Think it will help?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab at the bottom to check your page outs. Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. If your page outs are zero or very low during normal use, you probably won't see any performance improvement from adding RAM.

    Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
     
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    Not unless you are swapping to Hard disk. Otherwise wasted.
     
  4. d-m-a-x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #4
    I'll do a test with the activity monitor

    derbothaus-
    so both the ram and the ssd, or just the ssd?
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    GGj has you covered. Read in Activity Monitor. Easiest way to tell. For some reason GGJ answer didn't initially show.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    If you're not swapping to disk, the added RAM is a waste. The SSD will definitely help with startup, launching apps, any drive reading or writing.
     
  7. d-m-a-x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #7
    yeah, i see it - the ssd will help with capture because it is both a read and write situation.

    Ram may help with spinning wheel of death
     
  8. d-m-a-x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #8
    Still pretty slow - Capture One does not use too much ram. The ssd helps some. In the activity monitor it seems like the cpu is what's working hard.
     
  9. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #9
    These RAM threads are really getting tiresome.

    The following words should be written in letters of fire in the gray matter of every Mac or PC owner: MORE RAM IS ALWAYS BETTER, PERIOD!

    There should be a sticky at the top of every Mac forum that basically says: for the love of all that's holy, never, ever ask if you should buy more RAM, just do it.

    Thank you
     
  10. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #10
    More RAM is always better is only really true until ~8 GB, and even then you have to assume you're using modern software. After about 8 GB normal users (i.e. mostly web browsing and light MS Word or what not) will get ZERO benefit from more RAM. Zero /= better.

    For this particular user, who's opening RAW files and using Capture One, will almost certainly see a benefit going above his current 6 GB. I don't think he'd have much to gain going above what he'll now have at 14 GB, however.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    That is false. Read my first post and educate yourself.
     
  12. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #12
    phpmaven needs to learn computing before total caps.
     
  13. d-m-a-x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #13
    Geekbench 5507. I saw a x5365 for $200 on e-bay. It's a quad core, yeah?
     
  14. d-m-a-x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #14
    ah, have to get two of them. Looks like it would get me into the 10000 range, around $650 in upgrades.

    I've never seen this before, looks like MP is still top of the heap http://browser.primatelabs.com/mac-benchmarks
     

Share This Page