Doubting between MBA and Ultra thin '12

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rcannudi, Jan 5, 2015.

1. rcannudi macrumors newbie

Same decision here... after being a windows/linux user for many many years, I finally have to face the facts that Apple is my next step (many reasons, win 8.1 being one of the main ones).

I'm a tech person, writing, maintaining networks, configuring routers, calculating, browsing, gaming (league of legends and some steam games mainly), and lots of internet browsing. Using external storage mainly for all my data. I'm sometimes on the move, but I'm not a traveler, mainly either working at home or shared desk spaces and co-working offices.
    Don't care that much about retina display, although it's cool...

Still doubting though this is a rather expensive piece of tech, between:
    - MBA 8 GB HDD 128GB- with thunderbolt to ethernet port (can't live without ethernet port)
    - or waiting for the new rumoured Mac 12 inch http://www.macrumors.com/roundup/retina-macbook-air/
    - or maybe the MBP (although I think it's a bit too much for my needs)

I'm very new to all things Apple, since I tried it many years ago and found it totally not ok (2001-2) - But times changes a lot ... tried out a macbook pro from a friend today and was impressed with the speed although it was a few years old machine.

Any suggestions are welcome.

2. imaccooper macrumors regular

imaccooper

Unfortunately, all we have about the 12 in macbook is rumors so it really depends on how soon you need to get your new computer for that one.

As for the other options, I like my MBA but I think you would benefit from a pro if you want some more speed. As I'm sure you know, an SSD is a must in either device, but the MBP allows for upgradable RAM and a better processor. Since you said there won't be a lot of moving around then I would go for a 15 in model as you can get the best bang for your buck I believe.