iPhone Downgrade from iOS 6?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by omgitssum1, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. omgitssum1, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012

    omgitssum1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #1
    Soon, I will get a secondhand, unjailbroken iPhone 4. The phone has already been updated to iOS 6. Is there ANY way to downgrade to 5.1.1, possibly through an iTunes firmware restore? Or would that brick my phone? Thank you.
     
  2. truehybridx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #2
    If that phone does not have the appropriate blobs for 5.1.1 there is absolutely no way it can be restored to anything but 6+
     
  3. labman, Oct 20, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012

    labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #3
    also it wouldn't brick it you just can't install 5.1.1 you can find more info about shsh blobs annd how to check it etc on Iclarified or a simple google search. ;)
     
  4. Durvelle27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #4
    i was able to downgrade from IOS 6 to IOS 5.1.1 on my iPhone 4 using redsn0w 0.9.15b2 restore option without the shsh.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    You have to have had the shsh, perhaps you just didn't realize it.
     
  6. Sedrick macrumors 68030

    Sedrick

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #6
    I'd like this explained as well. I (like a 'tard) updated my iPad 2 to iOS 6 (on a whim) and forgot to save my blobs off. Now, it seems I'm stuck and I see no real advantage to 6 over 5 on the iPad and it certainly doesn't compare to the JB I gave up. *sniff
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  8. faroZ06 macrumors 68040

    faroZ06

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #8
    My iPhone 4 has a jailbreak available for it. U jelly? :D
    Don't worry, I'm sure they'll have it working on the iPad 2 soon.
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    No they won't, they are talking months.
     
  10. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #10
    Not possible.
     
  11. inselstudent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #11
    yes, you probably used the option in the latest redsnow to fetch available shsh blobs from cydia servers. once you've jailbroken your iDevice once, cydia automatically saves shsh blobs on their servers, which makes the need to save them yourself virtually obsolete.
     
  12. Major General macrumors member

    Major General

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    #12
    this is true I just did this the other day
     

Share This Page