Downgrade from iOS 8 to iOS 7 not work

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by amdatlon1, Jun 10, 2014.

  1. amdatlon1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    #1
    Someone tried to do downgrade iOS8 to iOS7? I tried it, unfortunately I somehow fail, iTunes, I get the error message: https://www.dropbox.com/s/28ayctqbmcuvlx5/01.png while I have the latest version of iTunes, iPhone in my dev. program, the hosts file is not an apple that would result in blocking if it was there, so really do not know anymore.
     
  2. Fantasigraphic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #2
    Put in DFU mode and make sure you're using the correct ipsw.
     
  3. amdatlon1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    #3
    I tried the iPhone via DFU and the right IPSW without the DFU restore iOS8 goes to iOS 7.1 does not, while I read everywhere that even without DFU restore works ...
     
  4. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    You need 7.1.1, not 7.1.
     
  5. Fantasigraphic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #5
    Correct ipsw is 7.1.1
     
  6. amdatlon1, Jun 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014

    amdatlon1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    #6
    I was download iOS 7.1 from developer center, I do not know kow version is there, I try download 7.1.1..

    Ohh on developer page is date sometimes in march, and I read that 7.1.1 was out in april, so on developer page is 7.1 and I was think that its 7.1.1, I now try download 7.1.1....
     
  7. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #7
    Why do people download the .ipsw manually when they restore? Just DFU it and plug it into iTunes.
     
  8. amdatlon1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    #8
    So I did not know that under the DFU restore it works.

    So I downloaded 7.1.1 and restore successful :)
     
  9. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    Because once you've installed a beta, iTunes can not always detect which is the proper ipsw needed. Even after DFU.
    If you want fewer headaches grab the proper ipsw in advance.
     
  10. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #10
    I've been running betas for YEARS and I've not once had this problem. Maybe I'm lucky.
     
  11. oGu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #11
    In DFU mode just hit restore in iTunes and let it download the software that it needs. I done this once I realised how buggy iOS 8 is right now.
     
  12. AaronM5670 macrumors 6502a

    AaronM5670

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #12
    I've encountered this problem, and I would recommend exactly this - although for those with slow broadband I feel your pain! :mad:
     
  13. AdonisSMU macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #13
    That's what I did. When it gets close to release time I will update again.
     
  14. Fantasigraphic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #14
    Great! Glad to hear it worked!

    ----------

    I manually d/l ipsw cause most of time it's a faster download than thru Apple/iTunes

    ----------

    And this as well.
     
  15. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #15
    never heard of this, been using iOS betas since iOS 5 not even windows or mac
     
  16. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #16
    true, it can be a faster download. I hadn't considered that. But since there are lots of people upgrading to the beta without the proper knowledge of how to do so, the iTunes method would be my recommendation, unless you have the ipsw already downloaded :p
     
  17. CarsonJones macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #17
    I've done it several times in the past and just yesterday and I've never ran into any issues where iTunes didn't automatically choose the correct ispw.
     
  18. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #18
    Actually, it works fine. You're not updating, you're DFU restoring - which means iTunes will install the latest publicly available firmware, no matter what you currently have installed. If the correct IPSW isn't already in the right directory, it will automagically download it. ;)
     
  19. afsnyder macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #19
    Use iTunes to download it. It seems if you download outside of iTunes you get an error. I ran into this last night and this morning I decided to use iTunes and it worked like a charm.
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    Yup, that's basically recovery mode. Just put the phone into that (which is even simpler than DFU mode) and it will do it. While DFU is generally more when you have IPSW downloaded already and want to use that particular file vs. iTunes downloading the appropriate one itself. Recovery mode generally does the trick fairly well.
     
  21. johnrs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham - UK
    #21
    This is what has worked for me.

    Downloaded firmware 7.1.1 (iPhone6,1_7.1.1_11D201_Restore.IPSW)

    Put iPhone in DFU mode and hit alt and restore.

    http://youtu.be/33jvMpMHW7E
     
  22. MagicHAM macrumors regular

    MagicHAM

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    I had this issue earlier last night. LOL I completely forgot about DFU mode, i kept nagging myself to keep on trying until I figured it out and retraced my own steps of what i did when I was using the IOS7 betas and wanting to go back onto iOS6.

    The DFU mode was what i needed! Now phone is back on ioS7.1.1!
     
  23. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #23
  24. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #24
    It's easy to accidentally download 7.1 instead of 7.1.1

    (Apple is not signing 7.1)
     
  25. matthew2926 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    #25
    Also, Apple still has 7.1 posted on the Dev Center. I have been waiting for them to upload 7.1.1 forever...looks like it's not gonna happen
     

Share This Page