Downgrade from iPhone OS 4.0 to iPhone OS 3.1.3

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Hellhammer, Apr 10, 2010.

1. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

So, my friend has a developer account and offered that he could activate my UDID if I want, but because I'm not a developer and iPhone is my only phone so I was wondering, am I able to downgrade back to 3.1 if I find 4.0 too buggy? If so, how can I do it? I assume I can restore it back to factory settings and then download the 3.1 and then transfer all my music and other files back, am I right?

2. xcrunner macrumors regular

At the moment, no because the beta upgrades the baseband of the phone (most important part) and you can't roll back the baseband and obviously 3.0 and below won't support the newer version.

3. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Okay, thanks! Decided not to upgrade as he would only add my UDID, not give access to his dev account so all updates must be downloaded from torrent sites and then restored so IMO pretty much work for unstable version. If I was able to downgrade, I may have tried it but as I can't, I won't

4. goobot macrumors 603

goobot

incorrect. i downgraded both my 3g and 3gs to 3.1.3 you need to jailbreak to reactivate tho. so you for the 3gs you will need your 3.1.2 on file cause you cant jailbreak 3.1.3 on a 3gs.

5. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I don't have it as I bought my iPhone in December and 3.1.3 was the current version back then. Anyway, too much hassle and I'm not willing to jailbreak mine yet, maybe when my warranty expires

6. goobot macrumors 603

goobot

jailbreaking doesn't make you loose your warranty. i brought my iphone to apple 2-3 times while jailbroken and they didnt care. and if they did just restore and your all good.

7. xcrunner macrumors regular

It worked on the newer baseband? Interesting. I might just have to score a developer account then.