Downgrade High Sierra to Yosemite

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fedkor, Oct 15, 2017.

  1. fedkor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    #1
    Hi mac funs!
    I have macbook pro 15" 2015 with High Sierra (10.13). I decied to downgrade to Yosemite (10.10) due to one program which runs only on Yosemite. I did a USB with Yosemite by this tutorial: .
    But when I am starting the MBP I am holding a "Option" key and I choose my USB but then is on my display "prohibit symbol" and I can not continue in installation so I have to restart MBP.
    But when I run the same USB in Parallel desctop everything is OK and I can normal install the Yosemite but just virtually and no on my start disk insted of High Sierra.
    Do you have any idea why did this ?

    Thank you a lot..

    Link to prohibit sign
    https://support.apple.com/library/c...en_US/osx/mac-prohibit-symbol-screen-icon.png
     
  2. CoastalOR, Oct 15, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2017

    CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    You need to erase you internal drive using Recovery to downgrade so you will need to backup your important data.
    See the "Downgrade Mac OS X using a bootable installer" section:
    http://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/ma...cos-high-sierra-downgrade-el-capitan-3581872/

    See the "How to Downgrade macOS High Sierra to a Prior Mac OS Version" section:
    http://osxdaily.com/2017/10/12/downgrade-macos-high-sierra/

    Edit: It would be best to test before erasing your internal drive, successfully boot from your NEW Yosemite USB installer. Don't forget High Sierra changed the file system on your internal drive to APFS. You need to get back to HFS+ before you can install Yosemite.
     
  3. macrlz9 macrumors 6502

    macrlz9

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #3
    If your Mac came with an OS newer than the one you’re trying to install, it won’t work. Some 2015 models shipped with El Capitan or Sierra.
     
  4. v1597psh macrumors regular

    v1597psh

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #4
    You need to find installer with the most up to date version which is 10.10.5. Anything lower than 10.10.4 or 10.10.3 build (14D2134) won't run on this Mac and will give you this symbol.
    Doesn't matter as long as this Mac was ever sold with this OS. My Macbook Pro 2015 was shipped with El Capitan but it can still run Yosemite
     
  5. Sam5281 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #5
    Assuming this is because of programs you run?

    About to update my Yosemite 10.10.5 -late 2013 because I cannot update Adobe Lightroom to newest version.
     
  6. Sam5281 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #6
    Sry for new question

    Does Sierra also change the file system to APFS?
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    No, only High Sierra and later. Sierra can use an APFS format drive, but only if you choose to do that.
    Sierra does not make any file format changes during the macOS install.
    High Sierra makes the choice for you :D
     
  8. Sam5281 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #8
    Solid great info. Trying to gain as much insight prior to “letting go” of Yosemite.
     
  9. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #9
    Remember to check the important apps you use that they are compatible with macOS High Sierra and specifically APFS. I have had an issue with civilization 5 from steam when using both Gods and Kings and Brave New World expansion packs. I know that as a game that might seem unimportant, but apparently some other apps are also having problems.
     
  10. Sam5281 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #10
    Absolutely. Everyone runs their macs for different purposes, so is a valid point.

    Truly utilize Adobe LR/Photoshop - and just stock apps from their out. Thinking I should be okay. Don’t remember the last time I did a full OS update. Once installed, it simply returns your computer, files, documents, bookmarks, notes, etc all that was in its current state exactly the same just in the newly formatted OS correct?
     
  11. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #11
    If you are upgrading the usual way then yeah. It is a "non-destructive" upgrade which basically means that a format is not required to upgrade the file system, so all your data will still be there. The main issue is just compatibility with how the new system works. If you are using the latest Adobe apps I'm sure they are already updated, and earlier versions a quick google search should tell you. Just make sure that whoever has tested it is actually on APFS, as a hard drive or fusion drive equipped computer will not by upgraded to APFS (it is intended for SSDs). Obviously, all the stock apps will work once updated.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 21, 2017 ---
    And remember to make a backup if you can. Always good to have before any major update.
     
  12. kissymac7 macrumors newbie

    kissymac7

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    The world
    #12
    Hi pleaseeee tell me you was successful in doing this. I am having the same issue. I just got a 2016 macbook but it has high sierra installed and I NEED yosemite but i cant seem to get it on here HELP
     
  13. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #13
    Unfortunately the earliest OS that the 2016 MacBook will support is either El Capitan or Sierra. You need something from mid-2015 or earlier to run Yosemite.
     
  14. kissymac7 macrumors newbie

    kissymac7

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    The world
    #14
    Hi are you 100% sure?
    Even if reformatting the hd?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 25, 2017 ---
    Also i know with el cap people were able to revert to yosemite...wouldnt this be the same?
     
  15. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #15
    OP:
    Did you previously have Yosemite on the 2015 MacBook?
    My 2015 MacBook Pro came with El Capitan.

    If you can't get a copy from Apple, you may have to go to eBay and look for folks selling a USB flashdrive with the Yosemite installer "pre-installed". Then, boot from the installer and install that way...
     
  16. kissymac7 macrumors newbie

    kissymac7

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    The world
    #16
    Is there any way at all? What if i installed el capitan is there a way to revert to yosemite from the el capitan?
     
  17. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #17
    Yes I'm sure. The problem is that the newer hardware is not supported with drivers for the older operating system. To figure out what the earliest version of OSX you computer can run, restart and hold down Command+Option+R. You will have to sign in to wifi. This will load the online version of Apple's recovery drive which, unlike the one stored on your internal SSD, will allow you to download and install the earliest OSX version your computer supports.

    People with computers that are supported by Yosemite were able to revert from El Capitan because Yosemite still supported them. An example is my 2015 MacBook Pro. If I wanted to, I could wipe it and install OSX Yosemite, which is the version that model originally shipped with. However, even if I wanted to, I could not install OSX Mavericks or earlier on it, despite having access to installers for those OSes from an older mac. The installer would refuse to install it, because it would not be able to operate the hardware in the computer. It is the same reason that some macs that meet the hardware requirements cannot install macOS Sierra. There are no drivers in the OS that would work with the computer.

    Even if you found a way to force Yosemite onto the computer, it would not be able to run properly, and you could potentially damage your computer.
     
  18. kissymac7 macrumors newbie

    kissymac7

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    The world
    #18
    Hi oh wow this sounds really bad
    Well when I did the method you said the recovery only shows the install for high sierra. i did check on everymac.com and it shows the earliest osx was el capitan

    How about this method
    this youtuber claims you can install yosemite on an unsuported mac
    i am assuming its like a hack..
    Also those who do hackintosh..they are able run os on windows systems
    If thats possible wouldnt a hack on a mac be more possible.

    I want to try that youtube method but I dont see it done on any 2016 versions
     
  19. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #19
    Those videos about unsupported macs are about older mac systems. Usually they rely on having similar hardware to newer macs, or being able to use older drivers. In the case of your mac, there will be newer technology in it that yosemite compatible drivers simply won't exist for. If you try it, be aware that apple will not support it and while I don't know if it could damage the hardware (such as by failing to regulate the newer CPU temperature, though I don't know if it will do that or not), but if it does cause damage, the applecare warranty would likely be void because you installed modified, unsupported software specifically indicated as not being supported.

    As for the hackintosh, there is a reason that you need to choose very specific hardware to build one. It is because OSX does not support a wide range of hardware, since it is only intended for supported macs.

    Why do you need Yosemite, anyway? If you need to run a reasonably lightweight program, you could try running a later version of OSX and then installing Yosemite in a VirtualBox Virtual Machine (I say VirtualBox because it's free and works well; there are others). To do so, you would need access to the installer for Yosemite. (May e visible in the app store if you have ever updated an older mac to Yosemite through the app store.
     
  20. kissymac7 macrumors newbie

    kissymac7

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    The world
    #20
    Hi ok, i just did a usb install with el capt i did erase the original ssd to journaled but now its still showsing the circle with the slash in it. Its not letting me install el capt either? Why is this

    I can install yosemite in a vm? I do have a parells software but im not sure how to go about that.
    I am software devl and web designer do my apps only work with yosemit
     
  21. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #21
    Try using internet recovery (it will require you to download el capitan again, which takes some time). It should show a picture of a spinning globe and ask for your wifi once you get into it. If you do not see either that or, if already connected, a loading bar *with the spinning globe and a time estimate, not with the apple logo) then you are booting into the internal recovery drive and not internet recovery. Again, to get to internet recovery, reboot and when you hear the startup chime, hold COMMAND+OPTION+R on the keyboard (hold the left command and option keys, I don't know if the right ones will work).
    If that does not work, you may have to talk to apple. With parallels desktop, you should be able to find online videos showing you how to set up a Yosemite VM.
    Are you sure you have the macbook, and not the macbook pro? The macbook pro was released later in 2016 and I believe it only supports Sierra.
    Did you buy your mac within the last 90 days or purchase applecare extended warranty? If so, you could try to call apple's phone support to get help with this.
    Also, how long ago did you create the el capitan drive? Sometimes those drives can stop working after a while (I don't know why, but it has happened to me repeatedly).
     
  22. kissymac7 macrumors newbie

    kissymac7

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    The world
    #22
    Yes i just did internet recovery and it keeps giving me the option to just install mac os high sierra

    I did look on my apple box and it shows it came pre installed with mac os does this mean it is not even possible to install el capt

    Yes the macbook is 2016 Its the 12 inch version and it shows it was made in 2016
    And it appears only one was made in 2016
    But even though it came preinstalled with mac os Couldnt i revert to atleast to el capitan
    I am in tears right now

     
  23. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #23
    You should be able to revert to el capitan if that is the macbook you have. Is there an apple store near you? If there is, you could set up an appointment and they might me able to install el capitan for you. Did you wipe the internal disk using the recovery drive, or the bootable El Capitan installer?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 25, 2017 ---
    Also, when you tried to boot from the USB, did you actually hold the option key and select the drive? I am pretty sure that the circle with the slash through it indicates that it was not able to find a bootable drive (likely would have appeared of it was trying to boot from the formatted internal drive).
     
  24. JOSmith99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    #24
    You are sure it is 2016? Because if it is the 2017 then it would only support high sierra and newer. It's in the apple menu under about this mac.
     
  25. CoastalOR, Oct 25, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2017

    CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #25
    Did you erase (format) your internal drive to HFS (Mac OS Extended - you only stated "journaled")?

    The 2016 MacBook can support El Capitan since that was the original OS used on the 2016 MacBooks.

    Did you check the links in Post #2 on how to revert from HS to a older OS?

    Part of the problem is that your internal boot SSD was automatically converted to APFS when High Sierra was installed (see the "APFS compatibility" section):
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208018
    Your El Capitan USB installer can not read a APFS HS volume.

    Remember, internet recovery is designed to install the OS that shipped with your Mac, which in this case was HS. BTW, as of Sierra 10.12.4 COMMAND+OPTION+R will install the latest OS that your Mac will support. Now to install the OS that shipped with your Mac, the key combination is Shift-Option-Command-R:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204904
     

Share This Page

35 October 15, 2017