Downgrade to El Capitan

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by komatsu, Aug 24, 2016.

  1. komatsu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #1
    I have Sierra on my system.

    Some apps not working at all.

    If I do a Time Machine backup and then install El Capitan - will Migration assistant work in bringing over the apps and data?
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Yes, it should.
     
  3. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #3
    I did it. Twice. Not a fun thing to do. You are not suppose to do it, so there is no apple supported procedure. The best you can do is reinstall from scratch, maybe using a bootable USB with El Capitan, and restore files and apps from Time Machine. I tried restoring the whole OS using Time Machine, and it never worked.

    At the end, I went back to Sierra, and I'm staying here for the moment.

    BTW, which apps are not working for you? I found that some of them need a reinstall, even though Time Machine restores them, the configuration gets corrupted and they crash. Happened to me with Mail, Webex and with Colormuki Display. I was about to post a feedback about Colormunki to the beta team, then I tried just uninstalling and reinstalling it from scratch. It works flawlessly.

    With Webex was even harder. I had to download a Webex Removal tool to clean every configuration about it, reinstalled, and working ever since. No issues whatsoever.

    So, i'd recommend you reinstall your problematic apps before rolling back.
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    Sorry, but time for a sermon:( I would never run a beta OS on a machine that had only one drive. You need at least one backup drive, for cases like this. I've been using Sierra since PB4. PB1,2 & 3 did not work well for me, they had bugs that I wasn't willing to live with. I updated my Beta Boot Drive after each update, and with PB4, it started working well for me and the applications I use. The only issue I have now, is the F12 key on my Logitech keyboard is not working as an eject key.

    Lou
     
  5. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #5
    Yup, lesson learned. The hard way :(
     
  6. komatsu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #6
    some apps that came with a Canon printer and Mail not working.

    Thanks for the tips!
     
  7. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    1password app gave me a corrupted error when I installed macOS. A quick reinstall over the current installation fixed the issue. Took two minutes.
     
  8. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #8
    I'd suggest you download the latest drivers from the Canon website, and for mail, you just need to delete all your accounts in settings, and set them up from scratch. Is working for me after that.

    Do that, and let us know how it goes.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
  10. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #10
    Bad idea.

    Even if it works (unlikely because of differences between Sierra and El Capitan) its very likely some of your software won't work reliably, especially if you use Office or Adobe software.

    Better to do clean instal and manually copy your data.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^Not my experience over the years. When I moved to Sierra for testing, I cloned my El Cap boot drive to another SSD, then installed Sierra. As of PB4, all applications I use, yes MS Office and PS CS6 and Acrobat 11 are among them. All work as they did in El Cap. The only current issue I have with Sierra is my F12 key not working for disk eject.

    Lou
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    Lou wrote above:
    "The only current issue I have with Sierra is my F12 key not working for disk eject."

    Just wondering...
    ... Can you go to the "Keyboard" pref pane, and (by using various options or perhaps by adding a keyboard command) get the F12 to eject discs, that way?
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012

Share This Page