Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bluevelvet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2012
Hello!

I am new in Mac world .. Just buy my iMac in June 2011 and so far I would like to try SL. My iMac came with Lion pre-installed on it?

my hardware is:
- model:iMac
- model Id: iMac 12,2
- CPU: i5
- freq CPU: 3,1GHz
- nb CPU: 1
- core: 4
- cache level 2: 256kb
- Cache level 3: 6mb
- graphic card: ATI AMD Radeon HD 6970
- video memory: 1024kb
- Rom version: IM121.0047.BID
- version SML: 1.7212
- OS version: Mac OSX 10.7.2 (11C74)

Just read some posts that say we can or cannot install SL... so far Inread a post giving the machines witch can Like the model 12,2 and some not.

To be honest (just to try before buying). I downloaded an image (dmg) of SL 10.6 retail disk.. True or not I don't know. So I toasted it and also restored it on an USB stick.

I voted with opt key and format + partionned the HD then decided to boot first on the optical then from the USB stick. Same error :

"Panic CPU caller ..... Unsupported CPU ....

Question:

is it possible or not possible to install SL ? If yes how to will be for appreciated !
Do I need to buy a original to check if it working ?
do the server version will maybe better working ?

Thk a lot and sorry if the post was already published .. Maybe misunderstanding on my side cause French guy...

Orion27

macrumors member
Feb 23, 2003
To install SL, on your model Mac, I believe you must have the latest SL install
disk which is 10.6.6 A work around would be to create a bootable SL partition on an external drive, apply the latest updates, 10.6.8, and clone the drive to you to your internal HD on your computer. You will need an older Mac to create the external drive. Once created, clone to your new Mac. You will then have installed SL.

Bluevelvet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2012