Downgrading from 3.0 Beta 2 to 2.2.1.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nfl46, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #1
    Anyone having any luck? I'm getting no service bars. :(
     
  2. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Most likely a result of the new modem firmware that came with 3.0b2.
     
  3. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #3
    So, I'm stuck with 3.0 Beta 2? ~_~
     
  4. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #4
    Did you already downgrade to 2.2.1 and have no service bars or are you in 3.0b2 with no signal? If the former, use the Pwnage tool and make sure "Activate the Phone" is unchecked.
     
  5. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    Don't jailbreak through Quickpwn/Pwnage, activate it in iTunes and then JB it (if you want to.)
     
  6. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #6
    I downgraded from Beta 1 to 2.2.1 a few days ago fine.

    This is what I did. I went to put my phone in DFU mode and went to iTunes and restore it, after it finished it gave me a 1013 error, so I open QuickPWN and did the 15 seconds and 2 seconds thing, then I jailbroke it.

    Where did I go wrong?
     
  7. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #7
    Don't JB through it. After holding down for 15 seconds in quickpwn connect it to iTunes and activate it. Then you can JB it.
     
  8. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #8
    Okay! I was in a rush and maybe I overlooked doing that. I just put 3.0 Beta 2 on my phone until I get out of class later and I can work on it.
     
  9. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #9
    Run Pwnage Tool and create a firmware that doesn't activate. ACHTUNG!
     
  10. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #10
    Gotcha! I'll try it when I get out of class at 3. Thanks.
     
  11. Ron21 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #11
    It's either because you are using quickpwn to activate or it could be that the new baseband can't communicate with 2.2.1.

    I haven't tried downgrading from beta2 so I don't know.
     
  12. coopersm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #12
    curiousity

    I am curious if the downgrade works the same. I am curious to try the new beta but I only want to try it if the downgrade works the same.
     
  13. ACiB708 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #13
    Is anyone here a dev that can register my iPhone Device ID under their devices in Apple Dev Program so I can use OS 3 beta 2? For... ejem.... testing... ? Thanks a lot!!
     
  14. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #14
    Okay, I got it working, but it hung on the waiting for activation screen for over 5 minutes.
     
  15. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #15

    So your downgrade worked fine going from 3.0b2 to 2.2.1? Everything works?
     
  16. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #16
    Yup, everything works fine.
     
  17. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #17
    I got an FM transmitter today, but looks like it doesn't work with 3.0 (my friends iPhone worked, although she's got the 1st Gen... don't think that matters though.)

    Kind of disappointing, this beta was pretty stable although there were issues with the iPod.app which is what I use most often so it'll be nice to have that back.

    Ugh, looks like I have to install Windows again... *le sigh*
     
  18. KingOfThe440 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #18
    Help

    I have spent 7 hours so far trying to downgrade from my beta 2 FW to 2.2.1 with no luck. Will you please give me the exact instructions on how you accomplished it? Thanks.
     
  19. KingOfThe440 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #19
    help

    do i update carrier settings when itunes prompts me or not?
     
  20. LePigeonBleu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #20
    i'm wondering the samething.

    m
     

Share This Page