Downgrading from Yosemite to Mountain Lion issues

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by theproducer, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. theproducer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #1
    So I've just bought a new iMac to replace my old macbook pro, and was scared that some of my software wouldn't run on the new OS Yosemite, turns out Pro Tools 10 won't even instal... balls :confused:

    I have backups and a usb stick with Mountain Lion on ready to try and do a clean instal on my new iMac, but the only issue is that when I bought my iMac, I got Logic Pro X pre installed on it. I'm thinking if I do a time machine back up of my new iMac it'll mean I can reinstall Logic once I've reverted back to Mountain Lion, but when I phoned up customer services they flat out told me that this version of logic won't work on yosemite. But, apple are always sneaky with transferring software etc and don't always tell the complete truth about whether you can or can't do something, so I was wondering if there was anyone here who could give me some advice?

    If I downgrade to Mountain Lion will that wipe Logic Pro X off of this computer and stop me from being able to reinstall it from a time machine back up? Could I go into the app store and re-download it once I've reinstalled Mountain Lion? Should I partition my device with mountain Lion and yosemite? Run Pro Tools on Mountain Lion, and Logic on Yosemite? What do you guys think? :)

    ----------

    Just checked on my old macbook pro by logging into the app store with my new apple id. Logic Pro X is there and it looks like I could just re-download it from the app store. Do you reckon that would work?
     
  2. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #2
    If you bought a new iMac with Yosemite, I'm pretty sure that you cannot install any previous version of OS X. The lowest is always the version that came with your mac.
     
  3. theproducer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #3
    I've read this too, but after calling apple customer services they said I definitely could do a clean install of mavericks, but that logic pro definitely won't be able to be installed. Was just wondering if you reckon that's true? I don't get why I won't be able to re-download it from the app store or something
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I think whoever you spoke to is very confused. From the specs in the app store, the latest version of LPX was released in May 2014 before Yosemite was even released, so it seems pretty clear it will run on Mavericks. It says 10.8.4 or later there in the specs. I see some app store reviews there from Yosemite users, so it does work.

    [​IMG]

    The whole idea of the app store is exactly your scenario. You just reinstall your OS if you want the redownload your app from the app store.

    On the Mountain Lion downgrade, that will depend on what your Mac came with from the factory. If it is newer, and came with Mavericks or Yosemite, you won't be able to go back to Mountain Lion.
     
  5. Swiss-G macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5

    Are you looking to install Mavericks or Mountain Lion?
     
  6. theproducer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #6
    Was hoping to go back to mountain lion, but I guess mavericks would work. Just means I'd have to update my laptop to mavericks, do a time machine back up and then use that to do a clean instal on my imac.

    Thank you for helping guys! Glad to know I haven't wasted my money on a version of Logic I can't use.

    My iMac specs are this:

    iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2013)
    3.1 GHz Intel Core i7
    16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Macintosh HD
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1024 MB
     

Share This Page