Downgrading iOS 5 Beta

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Roessnakhan, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #1
    This may be relevant to some who may want to try out iOS5 but are worrying about downgrading, if not feel free to lock/delete.

    I had upgraded to the iOS 5 Beta 1 and just wanted to test to see if I could downgrade to 4.3.3 and it went off without a hitch (iTunes 10.5, iPhone in DFU).
     
  2. zepica macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #2
    What model? And is your baseband downgraded too?
     
  3. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #3
    baseband will bot down grade. says in his signature he has a I4. also as long as Apple is signing 4.3.3 it shouldn't be a problem after that you need shsh blobs. just like any other firmware this happened every beta release.
     
  4. Roessnakhan thread starter macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #4
    iPhone 4 GSM.

    I didn't check my baseband when I was running iOS5, but now on 4.3.3 I have baseband 04.10.01.
     
  5. Darwing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #5
    Good post, I was just about to do the same, I'm going to try IOS 5 and then will most likely downgrade to 4.3.3 and jailbreak again :D
     
  6. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #6
    i tried it...over beta1. back to 4.2.8 no prob at all
     
  7. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #7
    Isn't that a hassle? I might try it, but I have so many JB apps that it would be a pain to reinstall them all :-/
     
  8. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #8
    ive restored so many times, ive gotten real quick at getting all my jb apps back.
     
  9. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    It's highly unlikely that a beta version of iOS would include a baseband update, especially beta 1.
     
  10. clickclickw00t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #10
    I have a Verizon iPhone running 4.2.8.

    I want to try out the iOS5 beta. Any idea if I can jailbreak that?
     
  11. pman219 macrumors 6502a

    pman219

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    Rick you're obviously on verizon.
    Did you have to do any of this shsh blob crap ?
     
  12. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #12
    you wouldnt jailbreak it to get iOS 5 you need a develpers account with apple, then you can download the firmware 5.0 Beta1 and you restore using itunes 10.5 beta
     
  13. Darwing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Lol I'm not that lazy! I've restored and installed and jailbreaking my phone so many times!! It's prolly a 30 min process to get everything back on as was!
     
  14. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #14
    jb ios5?

    nah, since apple is still signing 4.2.8 just hit restore. was simple.
     

Share This Page