Downgrading iPhone 4 from 4.0.1 to 4.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by csmitty, Jul 15, 2010.

1. csmitty macrumors regular

Ok, bear with me here. I'm used to the good ol days with the 3G. This is mainly just practice since i've never done a downgrade like this before and its pretty insignificant update so figured it'd be a good one to practice on.

I've got my shsh's locally with TU for 4.0. I then up'd to 4.0.1. So now I got the TU TSS server running. It appears TU added the server addy to my host file as there is 127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com there at the bottom. Now since TU has to the option to kick out of recovery, I put the phone into recovery, however when I option click restore, and select the 4.0 FW it says its incompatible. (NM, I just downloaded another 3,1_4.0 and it took that one) So its going now. However since it seems Apple is still signing 4.0 since I was able to get the shsh blobs not too long ago that its really not ever necessary (right now) to have the TSS server running. I guess I could have shut off my internet connection. Looking at the TU window it says recieving blob request, then says something went wrong, now a java.util line. Any thoughts?

Annnnnnnyways. Any advice would be great. Thanks!

2. dhlizard macrumors G4

dhlizard

And you updated to 4.0.1 why ? and now want to downgrade within hours why ?

I doubt very many have done this yet, so you may have to wait for a solution, but who knows.

3. thelatinist macrumors 603

thelatinist

What is your question? You got an error message when trying to restore using your locally-cached SHSH? What was the error message?

4. TMar macrumors 68000

TMar

From what I got out of it he upgraded so he could practice downgrading... Being as how apple is still signing it would be easy enough to do without TU but he wants the experience..

5. csmitty thread starter macrumors regular