Download latest beta?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by mizxco, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. mizxco macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #1
    Sorry this must have been covered before but I wanted a quick/confident answer.
    I just redeemed my public beta code, this should be beta 2.

    Any way I can get to latest beta without updating + installing 4 additional times?
     
  2. iMacDragon macrumors 68000

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You don't install 4 additional times, there's update to whatever latest beta is from whatever last full download was.
     
  3. mizxco thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #3
    You are right.. !!
    How come when I was on the El Capitan beta, I remember having to go from PB1 to PB5.
     
  4. ajay96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #4

    It must've been an older installer. I just downloaded the macOS Sierra Public beta from the App Store and i got the latest build with no updates needed as of now.
     
  5. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #5
    I downloaded the beta on early July, but decided not to install it. Now that the Beta 7 arrived, I wanted to give it a shot. I simply hit the download button on Purchased items in my App Store, and downloaded and installed the Beta. To my surprise, is was not the latest, but one of the earliest. I tried to download the update to B7, which appeared as an Update option in App Store, but every time I tried to download, it got stuck in 0 bytes. I even left it overnight.
    This morning, reinstalled El Capitan, and restored from Time Machine backup. Restore was horrible, and have been spending the whole day reinstalling files and configuring software. I even lost a whole VMWare Virtual Machine.

    It was not fun.

    My question is: Is there a way to install the Beta from a DMG? Purchased items in App Store still shows July 05, and the date it was downloaded, and trying to redeem the code again doesn't work, it says code already redeemed. Is there a way to update this to the latest?
    I don't want to go through this all over again.
     
  6. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #6
    Sounds like you have either the full installer for DP1 or DP2. After installing DP1 or DP2 from the full installer you can update these to DP7 either via mac app store or the install packages available at apple's developer forums at https://forums.developer.apple.com/thread/60700
     
  7. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #7
    No, It said [DOWNLOAD] on Appstore, so it downloaded the installer before running the installation, so it wasn't on my computer. Why it downloaded the old version, is beyond me. It should have downloaded the latest released beta.

    Anyhow, I went and downloaded the Public beta, instead, and this time I did the whole thing of redeeming the code and downloading the installer. This time (I thought) is going to be right, it will download and install the latest.
    Well, to my amazement, after installation completed, it was not the latest. Then the update to PB6 appeared in App Store, but this time it downloaded it. Thanks God. I was so worried.

    This installation of Beta software via App Store is not very stable, I believe. It seems to be better for the Public betas, but for developers, I believe we better stay with the downloaded package.
     
  8. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #8
    DB7/PB6 was the first one that gave me trouble via the App Store, FWIW. I was on vacation and tried several times over the wifi in my condo and it kept stalling or failing, or would finish downloading and then fail during install and boot me back over in to DB6/PB5.

    I tried again once I got home and it went off without a hitch. I'm chalking it up to server strain from everyone to get on the latest at once, combined with dodgy wifi in the condo. I never reinstalled or restored from any back ups, just gave up on updating until I was back home.
     

Share This Page