Downloading You Tube videos to iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by silvo, Oct 24, 2010.

1. silvo macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am a new iMac owner, and well pleased with Apple products, I am not a computer expert, nor a beginner either.

I am attempting to download a youtube training video for my wife to use at work.

I have found several references to downloading to a mac, on forums, and also have used a video on youtube its self.

Several suggest the use of iSquint, which I have downloaded ready for use.

I am opening the video, and pausing, then when clicking window in Safari, activity, as suggested, there should be a number of lines present, one of which should say download this video, or similar.

Trouble is there is only one line in the drop down box, and clicking on that to save to the desktop, does nothing.

I have checked all the obvious settings in Safari, but I cannot find any reason why there are no other lines present in the activity window.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in anticipation,

Ian Silverton

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Maybe you have to click on the little triangle in front of the line to expand the view?
    http://webrevolutionary.com/use-safaris-activity-window-to-save-web-files/

Btw, you can also use www.keepvid.com to download YouTube videos and use MPEG Streamclip to transcode the video to a better format (.mov, for QuickTime Player).

Also have a look at the following links to learn more about Mac OS X:

MRoogle is a good tool to search these fora for already existing threads about questions you have. It might be able to answer you quicker than waiting for an answer.

3. silvo thread starter macrumors newbie

spinnerlys,

Thanks for the prompt reply, I have tried ticking the little cross, all that does is close the line down, and says cancelled.