DP to GM

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Daniel97, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. Daniel97 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #1
    Having never BETA tested a OSX build before - im on DP6 currently ..

    When GM arrives, will it just be an update and then here we are back into the standard cycle of releases and updates or do we have to manually install the GM over the top and start again so to speak.

    Thanks
     
  2. MarcusCarpenter macrumors 6502a

    MarcusCarpenter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Yes you can just upgrade directly to GM, personally i always do a fresh install on GM.
     
  3. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    The GM will contain a full installer (not a delta). Once installed it will be just like the public release.

    ----------

    Is' a little like sweeping behind the washing machine. It may make you feel a little better but it really doesn't do much.
     
  5. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #5
    So I have DP6 on my Mac Mini.

    I could safely install that on my Air and when GM comes its just an update and I'll be back on public releases with no effort needed?
     
  6. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Sure as long as you have a backup (but you should have backups anyway) incase the beta install goes south.
     
  7. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #7
    Of course. I just meant really that I can't be arsed with a long winded install on 2 PCs if needed when the gm comes but if its a simple update that's fine
     
  8. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #8
    Again, when the GM comes out it will be a full installer. It will not be a delta update like DP/PB are.
     
  9. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #9
    That's fine, but it won't reset my machine will it? (Unless an error of course)
     
  10. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #10
    Not sure what you mean by 'reset". You will have to reboot (but you have to do that on all DP/PB updates) and you will have to do things like enable location services and log into iCloud. It's the same stuff you do anytime you install a new OS.
     
  11. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #11
    Yeah like I was updating from mountain lion to mavericks for example .. As opposed to a system restore install
     
  12. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #12
    Yes, it will be basically just like that.
     
  13. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
  14. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #14
    That's not what happened last year with mavericks. 2 GMs were provided both as full installers AND as delta updates.
     

Share This Page