DP3>DP4 : Set-up won't start after restart

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Donstil-nl, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. Donstil-nl macrumors 6502

    Donstil-nl

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi There!

    I have a little question, i am trying DP3 right now and want to upgrade to DP4.
    I Downloaded the DP4 img from the Developer portal but i don't get the second installer to start.

    First the installers fixes some files and then it needs to restart, after a restart the installer hase to install DP4 but at my MBP it just come's back in DP3.
    (i am on a Late 2011 MBP 15" so i sould be fine)

    Is there anyone with the same issue? Or is there maybe someone with a solution? Please let me know.
     
  2. unconchuir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    #2
    I'm getting the same problem on my MacBook Air (2011).

    It just restarts back into DP3! Have you found a solution?

    It also seems to be eating up ~4GB of hard drive space each time I try!!!
     
  3. jabbawok macrumors regular

    jabbawok

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #3
    Right click on the DP4 installer and choose "Show Package Contents".
    In Contents/SharedSupport there is an InstallESD.dmg.
    Burn that to a DVD and you have an install DVD, that should do the trick.
     
  4. unconchuir, Jun 14, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012

    unconchuir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    #4
    I finally got it installed after hours of trying!

    The problem lies with File Vault (for me!). If you have it on, turn it off (wait until it has completely decrypted the drive), then go to Macintosh HD and delete the folder called Mac OS Install (or something along those lines). Then try the install again.

    Hope this fixes it for you too!
     
  5. kooskoos1814, Jun 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012

    kooskoos1814 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #5
    Thanks, I'll try that.

    Tell you soon.

    EDIT: Nope, not working... mmh, strange.
     
  6. Donstil-nl thread starter macrumors 6502

    Donstil-nl

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #6
    Thnx! That did the trick!

    I only did not get The 12gb back from The times i tried to jnstall, but i Will do à clean install when the final comes so thats no big deal.
     

Share This Page