Drag and drop stuck

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Fez Vrasta, Apr 19, 2015.

  1. Fez Vrasta macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #1
    Hello guys!

    My new iMac 5k is arrived (with even more RAM than what I had requested) and it's great!

    I've launched it in recovery mode and recovered the backup of my rMBP to get all my stuff ready and it worked great.

    Now are some days I use it everyday and I have noticed a big problem:

    Once in a while, if I drag anything in the OS (or accidentally click and move on some image on Chrome/Safari/Browsers) the drag and drop gets stuck and I can't release the element.

    It happens with everything in the OS, and while it's stuck, I can't click on the menu bar or on the dock.

    Usually, clicking ESC everything is fixed, but sometimes I need to stop my iMac to fix it.

    Do you have any clue on how to fix this annoying problem?

    Thanks!
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    You have 90 days of free AppleCare telephone support, why aren't you using it?
     
  3. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #3
    Because everytime I call the Apple support they ask me to reinstall my computers :(
     
  4. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #4
    Drag and drop stuck

    You shouldn't recover a backup from a MBP to an iMac. You should use migration assistant instead to transfer files and applications.

    Try formatting the iMac (recovery > reinstall OS X) and following the setup process properly. At the migration assistant step, you can choose your time machine backup as a source.

    Obviously backup any new files on your iMac before you do this.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    Try a PRAM reset, and if that doesn't fix the problem an OS reinstall.
     
  6. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #6
    Thanks both, I had asked here if it was possible to restore a MBP backup into an iMac and the guys said so...

    I'll try the PRAM reset first.
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    Well too bad then...
     
  8. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #8

    Possible - yes. Recommended - no.

    Migration assistant was created for this situation.
     
  9. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #9
    With Migration assistant I would not get my entire configuration on my iMac. I have several brew softwares installed and stuff configured...
     
  10. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #10
    It sounds like you should go to the Accessibility Preferences and see if drag lock is turned on. If so you are probably better with it off.
     
  11. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #11
    I can't find that option? Where is?
     
  12. Fez Vrasta, Apr 20, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2015

    Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #12
    I don't want to declare victory too soon but after a PRAM reset everything seems to work...

    edit: in fact, talked too soon! The problem is still there. No way I reinstall my OS, it would take ages to reinstall everything!! :(
     
  13. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    Check System Preferences > Accessibility > Mouse & Trackpad > Trackpad Options > Enable Dragging. Your might be set to "drag lock" and that's getting you tripped up.
     
  14. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #14
    No I've not that option enabled, I don't neither use a trackpad (I use a logitech mx mouse)
    Thanks however!
     
  15. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #15
    I've called the Apple support and they promptly asked me to reinstall my OS. But when I asked if there was some alternative they made me clear some cache folders and reset the preferences and the problems seems to be fixed now.

    As usual, I hope I have not talked too soon!

    I've cleared the cache folders of both the System Library and the User Library.
    Then I've copied the preferences folder of the User Library to my desktop and I've cleared that folder.

    Then I've restarted, configured again what OSX asked, and I've copied the preferences files inside the preferences folder, when it asks you if you want to replace existing files, say NO.

    Then clear the bin and everything should be okay.
     

Share This Page