dragged program to desktop, how do you put it back(windows 7)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by redgaz26, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    so I have windows 7 and have been playing around with it though theres one thing I can't work out, I dragged a program(application in my world) to the desktop by mistake and I can't figure out how to get it back to where it came.
    It's not a shortcut its the program itself???
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Can't you drag it back?

    Where did you drag it from?
     
  3. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #3
    from the start - all programs menu, im sure this is an easy fix:rolleyes:
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Have you looked at the properties of this file? (right click or Alt+Enter)

    If it's only really, really small it's safe to assume that it's just an alias.

    If I remember correctly, Windows only saves aliases in the Start Menu, and not the actual programs. I doubt that may have changed in Windows 6.1 (called Seven), but one never knows.
     
  5. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    yeah I looked its the program itself which ive moved not an alias, on osx you would simply drag the thing back but i see no way to do this?

    Christ i wish i hadn't bothered:D:D
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    That's a really strange behaviour.

    Why aren't you able to drag it back? In Windows XP it was possible to drag something into the Start Menu.
    What about putting it in a folder (maybe even already existing one) in C:/Program Files and then making an alias in the Start Menu?

    Or re-installing it?

    That's really strange, and seems even illogical to me, but I have been away from Windows for a while, so maybe it does make sense in its own universe.
     
  7. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #7
    ok i got it back, right click All Programs and choose Open All Users. Start menu programs are stored in Programs folder
    then you drag in the program you want
    easy:apple::apple::apple:
     

Share This Page