Dragon Age: Origins on IMAC!!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AppleDragon, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. AppleDragon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #1
    I have downloaded and installed DAO for Mac. Because my ISP is via Satellite, it took 5 nights to get it downloaded for installation. The file is 9.2 gigabytes large.

    This version is not available on DVD/CD, believe me I tried.

    My question is there anyone else who is running the MAC version of DAO?

    I think it could be improved if they made it playable over a network. Two people could join up and let NPCs complete the party.

    What are your thoughts?

    AppleDragon
     
  2. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #2
    Co-op? Bleh ... there is enough of THAT crap out there. While you're at it, take away the turn based engine ... oh, and give it guns, too!

    ;)

    I did a review of the Mac version here. Sadly my assertion of 'unsupported abandonware' stands ...
     
  3. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #3
    Apparently you can use your CD key to download the PC version from EA's site. I wish I knew this when Direct2Drive had it for 50% off. Oh well, it will be on sale again.

    BTW, a minor correction to your review: Modern Warfare is not a cider port. Also, I was wondering what Mac you played the game on. I'd like to know how the ATI 2600 HD Pro runs DA in OS X...
     
  4. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #4
    Thanks for noting that - in another thread here I was reminded that CoD:MW wasn't Cider ... don't know why I thought it was, but anyway ...

    I played on the latest top-line Macbook Pro 15" with the 9600GT video card. I found the performance to be pretty good as I mention.

    Personally I love Dragon Age, just wish it would get some proper Mac support.
     
  5. ngower macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #5
    I'm running on the 2.66 stock i5 and it seemed to be...I dunno, not ugly but certainly not beautiful. Frames lagged a little bit, not crazy but certainly noticeable. Maybe I nitpicked but I couldn't get it running on native and looking pretty without a bit of a hiccup on the framerates.
     
  6. AppleDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #6
    IMac version of DAO

    Thanks for the replys, has expanded my knowledge.

    Im running it on an IMac 7.1. Intel core 2 Duo, 2.8 ghz single processor. 2 gb of Ram. Video is the ATI2600

    Runs wells, no glitches. Ideas of improving the game would be to be able to minimize the window so you could access the .pdf manual file. Also, the ability to import players via a network so you and friend could play on the same party.

    I have a PC version, not yet installed, and find both the manuals sorely lacking in the "how to" area.

    A little history, before the wife and I sold our houses and bought a RV for full time living on the road we had DSL and played Starwars Galaxy, until Sony nerfed it so bad it wasn't worth the challenge anymore. We then moved on to WoW. However, upon hitting the road and using Satellite for Internet, latency and Fair Access Policy (FAP, 375mb downloadable a day) crippled our ability to play MMORPGs.

    Again, thanks for the info.

    AppleDragon
     
  7. dimebox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #7
    Instead of satellite why not go with a cellular EVDO usb/card? I have a Verizon usb and play mmorpg/fps online all the time. Pings are good.
     
  8. AppleDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #8
    Dragon Age: Origins on IMAC!

    I'm sorry for the long delay between replies, but am distracted by doing a lot of touring of National Parks.

    EVDO sounds good if you are in an area that has 3G Service. Being that we live full time in an RV and often boondock we are either without cell phone service or places like Yuma, AZ that have only E (Edge) service. Thanks for the suggestion, tho.

    Oh well, life goes on.

    AppleDragon
     
  9. AppleDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #9
    Here is an Update. Since last posting I have become aware of future updates in our Satellite Service, which has changed the view of what we are going to do. We have started using a MiFi from Verizon and will phase out the Satellite Service in February 2011. Things are looking up.

    AppleDragon
     
  10. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #10
    I don't have it installed anymore, but with AA and AF set at high settings, it will look good :) ( Windows version though )

    I notice with some games that AA and AF is very important. Dragon Age was one of those games if I remember it correctly.
     

Share This Page