Drawing a simple hexagon in Photoshop

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by MadDoc, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. MadDoc macrumors 6502

    MadDoc

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I am relatively new to Photoshop. I am working on a game that uses hex-tiles as its base. I need to draw a simple hexagon as a .png file in Photoshop (black outline of a hexagon on a white background). Accuracy is key. It needs to be perfect (i.e. the internal angle at the top must be 120 degrees). I want the point of the hexagon at the top of the image. How do I do this? Angles are important as they are used in the game engine to determine tile placement.

    Thanks,

    MadDoc,
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    Hold down the Line tool until the menu pops up.
    Choose the Polygon.

    In the options at the top of the screen you can say how many sides you need.

    Draw it level and then can you use Arbitary rotation?
     
  3. shecky Guest

    shecky

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Obviously you're not a golfer.
    #3
    just use the polygon tool and make it for 6 sides.
     
  4. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    All you need to do is hold down the shift key while creating the shape, and it will snap to nice tidy angles as you drag the rodent around.
     
  5. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    A little off topic, but if you are new to photoshop, it might be helpful to know that the shift key is one of your best friends when using PS.
     
  6. werther macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #6
    ok I am gonna hijack this thread. I primarily use fireworks, but I enjoy making/using brushes in photoshop more and more. I can get around photoshop fine except one thing......and it's pretty stupid: How does one know the dimensions of an object.

    for instance say I am working on a document 800 x 600 and on one layer I put a box. The box only needs to be 200 x 100 or whatever. How do I find out the size of said box? In fireworks it states it right in the objects properties.
     
  7. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #7
    Use F8 to bring up the info window. Click on the layer/object of interest, pick Edit->Transform->Scale (or Free Transform) from the menu, and the dimensions will show up in the info window. esc if you don't really want to adjust the size.
     
  8. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #8
    This is another reason why Fireworks is your friend. Everything is rounded to even pixels and viewable at all times. Even vectors.
     
  9. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #9
    One way is to specify to draw a box 100px x 200px in the options panel.
     
  10. werther macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #10
    thanks for the replies. I know about the transform dimensions and that I can specify dimensions beforehand, I guess what I really wanted to know was, is there a way to display that information all the time like fireworks does.

    I know they are two different programs, but I figured it couldn't hurt to ask.
     

Share This Page