Drawing artist/student confused by choices

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Elsbeth, Dec 1, 2014.

1. Elsbeth macrumors newbie

Hello,

I'd like to start by saying that, I'm not that fluent in English, so bare with me.

I have a dilemma, because both choices are good things to consider having. Mainly MBA and rMBP. The thing is I'm mostly going to do drawing/business stuff on the notebook. Using Photoshop, Illustrator, Lightroom, and of course some drawing programs, like Black Ink for example. Not to forget as I'm still a student, I will be using Office or maybe try to use iWork. And also quite gamer at heart, but not that much haha) Could use a game like mmorpg or moba.

Do I need 8 GB of RAM or 4 Gb will suit me? That retina display really catches my eye for drawing purposes or will MBA do just fine? Battery life is fine, I guess. So that's not much of a deal. Oh right. Both have 13 inch.

I'm quite at a loss, as I never used Macs before. So please help me with that choice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

First make sure all apps you need are available on mac

As the title says make sure all apps needed are mac friendly or you will need to bootcamp windows to use them. This might make a windows laptop a better choice for you...

Second if you want to game it will have to be pretty casual on the 13 inch the integrated graphics on the rMBP are the best intel have ever produced but this is no gaming laptop and modern games at high res with all effects turned o0n just isn't going to happen a bit of WOW or something similar should be fine though.

Thirdly the rMBP is a better laptop all round for a relatively small increase in price, as an artist the connectivity for drawing tablets and external monitors will be a must for you i think as well as the SD card slot for images and photos. The screen is amazing and fantastic for your art stuff more importantly as a student the text is just brilliant on it...