Drawing in real time

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Car123, Mar 22, 2011.

1. Car123 macrumors newbie

I'm completely new to objective-C and have a problem when it comes to drawing 'in real time' if one can call it that.

I programmed a simple app that reads the (x,y,z) acceleration and displays it in labels at the bottom part of the screen. I then used quartz2D to draw a rectangle (boundary) at the top part of the screen (just for presentation purposes, I don't really need it).

My next task is to draw a line, depending on the acceleration values I am reading, in the rectangle boundary I previously drew. Lets say that I get x=0.5 and y = 0.5 (ignoring z), I want to draw a line from a point, say, (100,100) to (100+x, 100+y) as soon as the x, y are read.

Is it possible to program this part, in the method that is setting the acceleration values (i.e. my MainProjectViewController.m) or do I need to make another UIView subclass?

If I need to subclass another UIView, how can I import the acceleration values (from my MainProjectViewController.m) and have the "drawRect" method in my subclass refresh every so often (if this is even possible)?

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Create a view that does the drawing based of currently set values. The values can be properties of the view. Have the controller set the values in the view and then request a redraw via the standard method.

3. Car123 thread starter macrumors newbie

4. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

PhoneyDeveloper

It's always a good design to use [self setNeedsDisplay] rather than [someView setNeedsDisplay]. The view should set itself as needing to redraw when its values are changed. There are no UIKit standard controls that require setNeedsDisplay and you should make your own views work the same way.

Either add this code to the setters or use KVO so the view notices when its values are set.

5. Car123 thread starter macrumors newbie