Dreamweaver CS4, setting up a server? to test PHP?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by MythicFrost, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hey, I've not done much with PHP in a while, in fact it was windows that I last used it, I used to use EasyPHP, but it is for windows only.

    I've downloaded MAMP I think, and XAMPP, but I'm unsure how to use them..
    When I do Option+F12 (Preview in Safari), it says it can't find the file/page...

    Does anyone know how to do this?

    Kind Regards
     
  2. Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #2
    Get MAMP and install it. It should also come with a widget. Install it as well. After installing MAMP, go to Dashboard, and the MAMP control center widget should be installed. Click "Start all Services". Next, put all your files in the Macintosh HD/Applications/MAMP/htdocs folder. Fire up your web browser, and enter http://localhost:8888/path/file to view your file. For example, if your file is file.php in htdocs, type http://localhost:8888/file.php. If its name is file.php in the test sub-folder (which is located in htdocs), type http://localhost:8888/test/file.php

    You should have read the documentation, though...

    Also, when you fire up MAMP, a page should be opened with all the stuff needed...
     
  3. nuxx macrumors member

    nuxx

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #3
    If you want to use Dreamweaver's Preview in Browser option with MAMP running, you'll need to change the site definition file.

    After opening your site definition file in Dreamweaver, select Local Info and change HTTP address to http://localhost:8888/.

    Next select Testing Server and change URL Prefix to http://localhost:8888/.
     
  4. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #4
    In mamp preferences, I set it to use the default ports and changed the document directory to point to my site. I didn't have to change anything in dreamweaver to make it work and it can be accessed in any browser by just typing localhost. No ports are needed when setup this way.
     
  5. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia

Share This Page