Dreamweaver or BBEdit?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by ComicStix, Sep 5, 2009.

1. ComicStix macrumors member

Hey!

I am kind of new to web developing. I have Dreamweaver and BBEdit and I don't know which one to use. I use both and I like Dreamweaver's code and design view. Don't they both basically do the same thing? Which one is better? I have been using BBEdit lately but it has been a pain refreshing a browser window whenever I want to see my site.

Thanks!
    ComicSTix

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

It's really up to you and what you're wanting. I use BBEdit exclusively. I've added my own scripts and clippings to it to make my work flow quite fast for doing web design and development. Things I can't do with DreamWeaver. Since I work a bit with PHP having live preview doesn't really make sense so that lacking feature doesn't bother me in the least. I also check things in multiple browsers as I wouldn't really trust DreamWeaver's preview anyways.

I also make use of BBEdit's built-in Subversion integration for my site files. Very handy. The other big thing I like about BBEdit is its light weight. When I've used DW in the past it just seems more resource intense and sluggish. It really just depends on what you need and want out of an editor.

Edit: Just noted BBEdit does have a live preview. Under the Markup menu there's a "Preview in BBEdit" option. It updates after a short delay. Not sure what rendering engine it's using, but there you go.

3. memco macrumors 6502

Well, it's really a matter of personal taste and workflow. Dreamweaver is by no means a terrible development app, but it's got some shortcomings. The preview is ok, but when you consider all the cross-browser issues or if you use dynamic code such as PHP, Ruby or what have you, the preview loses a lot of utility. BBEdit has a lot of power and it will never try to rewrite your links to point to a local file (DW has a terrible habit of doing this).