Drive won't mount

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by satinsilverem2, May 22, 2017.

  1. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #1
    Since I got my 2016 MBP I've been having an issue with my Lacie Rugged SSD. The drive will mount when connected over Thunderbolt but I can't get it to mount via USB. Ive tried different ports, cables, restarted the machine etc. The drive shows up in System Profiler but not in disk utility. The only thing I haven't tried is to get one of those USB C to mini USB 3.0 cables instead of using the USB C to USB A adapter. As it's an SSD inside the Lacie I can't imagine its because of a power limitation. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? I would connect it over thunderbolt but the thunderbolt 3 to 2 adapter is already being used for another external RAID array and I really don't want to have to go out and by another fifty dollar adapter if I don't have to.

    Thanks.
     
  2. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #2
    Do you still have the Belkin docking station? You might want to try connecting it to it or any AC-powered hub for that matter just to see if it's a power issue. When it's in Thunderbolt mode, it may be supplying more power - mere speculation on my part.
     
  3. satinsilverem2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #3
    I tried it with a powered USB hub and the drive mounted right away. So its got to be a power limitation of some sort. Its weird because my 2011 machine didn't have an issue with mounting it over USB. Im wondering if the new MacBook Pros USB ports are a lower power. or if the usb c to usb a adapter has an internal power limitation.
     
  4. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #4
    Take a look at the following article:

    https://www.theverge.com/2016/2/4/10916264/usb-c-russian-roulette-power-cords

    In using the LaCie, you don't have to worry about it taking too much power but the article does explain how USB-C cables have to be able to restrict the amount of power that flows through the cable to avoid damaging a computer (devices might ask for too much power from the computer). Maybe in doing so for the cable you're using, it's not supplying enough power to the LaCie. If it's the cable, which is a good possibility, that certainly places a burden on the consumer to have to research before buying. Maybe LaCie has some information in that regard.
     
  5. satinsilverem2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #5
    Do you think this would work then for me?

    https://www.amazon.com/CableCreatio...=1495564412&sr=8-12&keywords=usb+c+to+usb+3.0
     
  6. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #6
    In the reviews, some people are saying it only provides USB2 speeds and in the product description, there's also some verbiage to that effect. I think a better choice would be:

    https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics...01GGKYIHS/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

    I'm just basing this on the specs and what reviewers say works and doesn't work - I haven't tested this cable myself. Oops. I just noticed it says it ships in 2 to 5 months.

    The following is available now and it probably should work - not as confident of it as the Amazon cable.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N36MO5U?psc=1
     

Share This Page