Drivers wont install.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by hotwater10, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. hotwater10 macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #1
    Ok, Here is the scoop. I am trying to get Wifi to work on my macbook while on XP. When I put in the disk and it says "The package requires a newer version of Windows Installer. Would you like to update?" I say yes and it says "The requires resoruce update is missing." and if I click no it says "The operation is aborted." or something. Any help.
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Are you connected to the Internet with a cable when you get that error?
     
  3. hotwater10 thread starter macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #3
    No, bare Macbook.
     
  4. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    It's probably trying to download a new version of the installer from the Internet so you will need a cabled connection to achieve this (I think).
     
  5. hotwater10 thread starter macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #5
    Like to a phone jack like back in dial up?
     
  6. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    If you have dial-up internet then try that - I was thinking more like plugging a cable into your router.
     
  7. hotwater10 thread starter macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #7
    Enternet cable?
     
  8. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  9. hotwater10 thread starter macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #9
    Then download the Windows installer update?
     
  10. hotwater10 thread starter macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #10
    OMG I hate this! Some one hel=p me consistentley.
     
  11. hotwater10 thread starter macrumors member

    hotwater10

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #11
    I pluged a enternet cable to my modem and nothing happens! :( I am honstely about to cry.
     

Share This Page