driving wheel for colin mcrae

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ckyr, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. ckyr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #1
    Is there a mac compatible usb driving wheel to play colin mcrae under leopard?
    I have read mixed opinions about the logitech ones. Is there anybody with a working wheel?
    Thanks
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    I have the Logitech Racing FF wheel (see pic).

    In my experience, this wheel is superb for the majority of Mac games, and perfect for Windows games....
    But...
    I have an issue with Colin McRae Rally 2005 (both on a Mac Pro '08 and Quad G5):
    The wheel works, but the preciseness is poor. I have to to minimize the deadzone, and fiddle with the responsiveness to make it "alright".
    This same wheel in the same game in Windows XP works perfectly, and this same wheel playing any other game (Need For Speed Carbon on this Mac, or Nascar 2003, or F1 CS 2000 on a G5) is perfect too...!

    I have also tried another wheel (an older Logitech Wingman Force) on a Power Mac G5 Quad running Leopard, playing Colin McRae 2005 and it has the same issues...
    So, I am not sure if Colin McRae simply needs an update to solve the issue, or that simply the Logitech wheels are badly supported on the Mac version of this game.
    Everything else works perfectly.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. TheReef macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #3
    Sorry to barge in…do you find a wheel really much better than the keyboard for CMR:Mac?

    Back in the day I used an old Logitech without force feedback for Colin Mcrae Rally 2 and driving was pretty horrible compared to the keyboard..

    What makes a good wheel these days?
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Well, normally you bet ya!

    If your game supports the wheel nicely and especially if Force Feedback is available, then your reality sense of such a racing game is far, far better than if you use a keyboard.
    The wheel must also be seen as "analogue". So, you can turn the wheel "a bit", or 'slightly" apply the breaks. You can't do that on a keyboard. The key is either "on" of "off". Not pressed "a bit".
    However.. if the game doesn't support the wheel, the it can be frustrating.

    And CMR:Mac doesn't support my two tested wheels very well...
     
  5. theanimaster macrumors 6502

    theanimaster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #5
    I'm using a G25

    I'm using the "wheel-of-wheels" Logitech G25 and like you I've experienced crappy responsiveness in CMR Rally mac. Your post just confirms what I thought was paranoia.

    Although I've played w the wheel in Ford Racing II and it seems to be alright there.

    Will see if Nascar works, but the set-up is intimidating.

    I've emailed Feral about the problem. Also noticed the graphics settings aren't being saved.

    All in all I thought it was just me sucking at the wheel. My nephew tops my time using the wheel and gets better using the rumblepads. Geez.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page