Drobo AirDisk?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by R.Youden, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #1
    Hi

    I have a Drobo for data backup and storage. Anyway I am looking to connect the Drobo to my Airport Express as an AirDisk.

    However the Drobo keeps going into 'sleep' mode and I can't access it anymore. Is this normal behaviour and does anyone know a solution to this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Rich1963 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #2
    Have you tried posting this over at the Drobo forum (www.drobospace.com)? The depth of knowledge is quite a bit better there pertaining to the Drobo...
     
  3. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #3
    On the Pro and Elite models you can disable sleep. But I don't believe it is possible on the original Drobo.

    I have the Drobo hooked up to my Mac Pro with FW800. I wish there was a way to keep it awake, but I don't know of one.
     
  4. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #4
    Yea, I haven't found a way to keep it awake either while connected to my Mac Pro. It isn't overly annoying as I don't use it too often (it is solely for backup).
     
  5. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #5
    Yea, I haven't found a way to keep it awake either while connected to my Mac Pro. It isn't overly annoying as I don't use it too often (it is solely for backup).
     
  6. sidefx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #6
    I think your problem is on the airport express the usb port is only for printers. You need to get the airport extreme to have a wireless HDD.
     

Share This Page