Drobo Gen 3 USB 3.0 Corruption

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Paul H, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. Paul H macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #1
    I have a Drobo Gen 3 connected to my late 2014 5K iMac via USB 3.0 and I keep getting directory corruption issues but none of the 4 drives show any type of errors. Drobo ran me thru troubleshooting steps, checked the power supply and even had move the files off the unit, reformat and move the files back on. I use this for my iTunes library and its getting to be a pain having to use Diskwarrior weekly to rebuild the directory when I reboot the Mac and the drive does not mount. I used to get an error that the drive was not ejected correctly when my Mac went to sleep but I changed the settings and that seemed to go away. Something is still corrupting the directory but I don't know what. I don't know if it is one of the WD drives that are going bad but not enough to cause an error, but I don't know how to tell which one. I am waiting on Drobo support for their next response... hopefully sending me a replacement. Still in warranty until Nov... The unit is not even a year old... I am ready to throw in the towel and look at maybe a something else if they don't get this resolved.

    Does anyone have any experience like this with a Drobo Gen 3?

    Thanks
     
  2. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #2
    It sounds like Drobo support is giving you all the help they can. See if the replacement Drobo makes a difference, but remember it's possible that your computer is causing the problem. You mentioned settings, drive not mounting, and drive not ejecting without giving details. Have you installed the current Drobo Dashboard?
     
  3. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #3
    Yes, current and everything checks out OK... so weird.
     
  4. phoynak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #4
    Does anyone know if it's possible if I power down the Drobo and pull out one drive at a time and hook it to my Mac and run Tech Tool Pro on each drive a run tests if it will harm the RAID I have set? I will put them in the same slots when done. I found an old KB article on Drobo's site that it could be one of the drives not spinning up fast enough that can cause this problem but not give an error to throw a SMART alert. If I find one of the drivers with a drastically direct spin up time I will replace it and see if the problem grows away.
     
  5. phoynak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #5
    Ok so Drobo can't figure out why I am still getting corruption issues. I may just go with another external drive solution. I am leaning towards either a Synology DiskStation 216j or a Mycloud EX2. All I would really use it for is my iTunes library which is maybe just over 1TB now but I am big on backup. I like the Drobo because it's easy to grow with. Just throw in a bigger drive and move on. I have 4 3TB drives but don't really need that many. If anyone has any thoughts that would be great.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page