Drobo Update?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mtfield, Jun 24, 2008.

1. mtfield macrumors 6502

I've been looking into NAS options, and have started to look seriously into purchasing a drobo and hooking the usb cord to my AEBS and I think it would do fantastic. Looks like a great piece of hardware. I'm a filmmaker and have a couple other drives, so my thought process is I use those drives A.) I have a smaller drive that is easily transportable.. and B.) use the bigger one for project that I am working on currently so that I have the FW 800 for a speedier scratch disk. Then I can use drobo for time machine, itunes storage, and archives of past video projects... does this sound like a sold set up??? What I really want to know is if drobo is due for an upgrade... I'm not totally sure how long it's been out (I think a year...) if so seems like it should get a revamp soon... even though i'm not sure what can be improved... anyway any word on if this little machine is going to get a makeover anytime soon??? Thanks!

2. ButtUglyJeff macrumors 6502a

ButtUglyJeff

I have heard rumors of a 6 bay Drobo, and firewire support, but only that. Just rumors. I'd like to see a transfer speed increase myself, though I doubt that would be enough for me to upgrade units.

There used to be a forum, at Data Robotics' web site, but it has since gone down. That's where these rumors would spread. Kind of like here.

3. RedTomato macrumors 68040

RedTomato

A couple of things:

I don't know if you plan to shift video projects via wifi or not. From experience, shifting very large files over wifi is a painful experience.

Most network attached storage is very slow, until you start spending good money. It's ok for small files, but when you get to shifting a 10GB file (which is a small video project) then you start getting very long transfer times and mysterious failures.