Drobo - Won't mount, all drives red, not detected by drobo dashboard

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kellen, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Not expecting much, but maybe I will get lucky. Its a second generation drobo with firewire and USB.

    It's used, but seller says it works. Got it, plugged it in, ALL the lights turn on. The drive lights are all red, doesn't change. The blue lights are all lit up in blue, doesn't change. The power light is red, no changing.

    Things I have tried:
    -resetting it by holding the reset button and plugging into the power, doesn't help
    -putting a HD in, putting two in, trying all the bays, doesn't help
    -connecting to the computer via USB and firewire 800, multiple ports, doesn't help
    -connecting to drobo dashboard via 1.7.3, 1.6.8, and the original install version, doesn't help

    At my wits end. Read 30 pages on drobo forums, posted my problem there as well. Done endless google searches for similar issues. Can't get anywhere. Next is to call Drobo when they open tomorrow.

    Anyone else had a similar problem? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    Is it possible that the Drobo has to format the drives before it will go on-line and be accessable? If so, that could take a while. You might try it with just a couple of drives which might complete faster.

    This just a guess ... I have the Drobo FS, but it has been awhile since I set it up and I don't remember much of the process. Hopefully someone else will chime in who has the direct connect version like yours with more knowledgeable information.:cool:

    Good luck....

    -howard
     
  3. PurdueGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    When my Drobo did this, the power supply (external brick) was fried. Swapped in a new one, everything was fine. Wasn't documented anywhere, but I had a 2nd power supply to try.
     
  4. kellen thread starter macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Interesting. So yours wouldn't mount, read a drive or boot? That gives me hope! A little, but still some hope.
     
  5. PurdueGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    Mine didn't do a thing when it did that. Even bays that didn't have a drive had the lights on.
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Quick Format

    I swapped out drives in my Drobo a couple of months ago. The formatting process takes less than 5 minutes, so I don't think it's waiting for that to happen. Are the drives actually spinning up? And is the fan coming on as well or just the lights?
     

Share This Page