Drop Down Menu Not Working

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by donsgarden, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. donsgarden macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Can anyone help me fix a problem with my drop down menu in my website donsgarden.co.uk. It works fine in Firefox, Safari, Chrome, Explorer etc. and use to work on the Iphone and Ipad. What happens now is that the iPad and Iphone in OS5 does not allow me to get to the first and second drop down menus.
     
  2. Daveoc64, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
    The problem is that on a desktop browser the user can simply hover the mouse over the menu to make it appear.

    On a touch screen device, they can't do that. When they tap one of the drop down headings, the browser follows the link as defined in the page:
    e.g.
    Code:
    <li><a href="/myblogs">2010</a>
    If you remove the <a> tag then what you want might start working again, but you'd lose the ability to go to the main page for each category.

    You could add the main page for the category to the list itself so that it can then be chosen by the user.

    There are probably also other JavaScript libraries that will work around this issue.
     
  3. its snooze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    #3
    donsgarden, I noticed your site is working now. I am having similar issues with a site I am working on, www.lumiereportraits.com . What did you change to make it work with iphones?
     

Share This Page