drop shadows in pdf???

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by gonnabuyamac, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. gonnabuyamac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #1
    i designed a brochure in InDesign, then exported it to pdf so that I can print it either through fedex/kinkos or at office depot. when i load it onto their sites, the images in the document that have drop shadows act weird - either they end up in filled in boxes, or boxes are around the images.

    Why does that happen? Is there a setting I have wrong?
     
  2. oscuh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    What PDF setting do you use? I notice that is I use a PDF/X3 or /X1A setting, but if I use Press Quality, I don't get the white box. Do you see it when you preview your PDF, or only when you take it for output?
     
  3. antoneoh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #4
    I have experienced this before because I do prepress at a print shop. I make my pdf with press quality settings. It has to do with the flattening of a pdf with transparent images. We print from Acrobat 8 and it seems to fix the boxes. So wherever you go to take your file, ask them for an actual sample first.
     
  4. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #5
    This is the Roman God of Design's way of telling you to not use drop shadows. ;)
     
  5. oscuh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Yah, until the client tells you to put a drop-shadow on it :p
     
  6. shecky Guest

    shecky

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Obviously you're not a golfer.
  7. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #8
    i think drop shadows without any blur, can give a striking effect.
     
  8. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #9
    Hi there!

    I´ve droped shadows in indesign, and when printing, didn't come with any problem...all good. i never heard, droping shadow in a pdf program lol
     
  9. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #10
    uopss...sorry there, didn't read the post right! i understanded the wrong way... try to save in pdf version 7, when the program asks you in which version os pdf would you like to save de file
     
  10. Claytoniss macrumors regular

    Claytoniss

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #11
    I have said this before, but kinko's is the herpies of the graphic design world. And I would prefer a drop shadow now over the wet floor effect. Uhhg!
     
  11. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #12
    What about a drop shadowed lens flare reflected with a wet floor that has numerous amounts of strokes?

    'course we'd have to overlay some text in Comic Sans, non? :)
     
  12. macstudent macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #13
    easy solution. Just turn on overprint preview in acrobat and they will appear and print just fine.
     
  13. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #14
    I thought it was Comic Sans font and lens flares in Photoshop :confused:
     
  14. Claytoniss macrumors regular

    Claytoniss

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #15
    That would be sweet! I would also add some nice gradients to complete this awesome design.
     
  15. RubberChicken macrumors regular

    RubberChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    If you are talking about very fine white lines which appear everywhere, then this is a result of flattening the file, as the image becomes segmented. Press output profiles generally require Acrobat 4 which does not support transparency. If you zoom in on these white lines in Acrobat you should find they don't get any bigger. They should not appear on final prints, it's like a rounding error in Acrobat's display. You can avoid it by saving your PDFs as 5 or above, retaining transparency, but you should be very careful to discuss colour management and flattening preferences with your printer, or expect some surprises.
     
  16. Alecia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #17
    Getting rid of those white lines.

    I have had problems with these 'white lines' appearing on PDFs for years
    and have only just discovered the cure!

    I believe that as long as your PDF is set to 1.4 all your problems will be solved!
     
  17. RubberChicken macrumors regular

    RubberChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #18
    Yes, that's what I said in my previous post. Acrobat 5 or above retains transparency, the file is not flattened.

    However, you don't really need to look at the lines as a big problem. They are an onscreen anomaly and should not appear on any of your prints. The only problem I have with them is explaining to clients that they can be ignored. But it's about time Adobe did something about them. And if you do "solve" them by not flattening the PDF, you should check with your printer what settings they will apply when flattening the file. Flattening also the invokes the colour management engine. If you do it, you can verify the result. Your printer may use a different setting and produce different colour breakdowns. I think a lot of newer rips can take unflattened PDF directly, but all our printers and publishers ask for v1.3 PDFs (Acrobat 4).
     
  18. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #19
    Woot woot. I am getting payed for this right? :D :D :D

    Apologies for further deviating from the original question... I was bored...
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Alecia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #20
    This is not always the case. In my opinion they shouldn't be ignored.
    Some jobs i've had no problems with at all and the lines don't appear on the CTP plates, or on the print job, however there have been two or three where the lines have been present!
    My advice is don't take the chance! Theres nothing worse that getting a job on the press when you're admint the lines won't print and then they do when the make readys start churning through! Press time is expensive!
     
  20. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #21
    I have had the white boxes appear around my transparency effects, but my printer got it resolved. I'm not sure what they did, but I think it had to do with overprinting. I don't know if the geniuses at Kinko's will be able to help, though...
     
  21. RubberChicken macrumors regular

    RubberChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    Certainly a serious issue if they do turn up on plates. I'm reminded now that I've heard one or two cases of this before, but I'd forgotten about it. Just my personal experience they have not...yet. Also, I asked Adobe tech about it years ago, and mine was the explanation I received.

    As it's the nature of the flattening engine to slice up the page when compositing transparency effects, and the lines (for me at least) always appear around the slices after this, how do you prepare a flattened prepress PDF without them? Bearing in mind 99% of our vendors still require v1.3 PDFs which cannot contain live transparency.
     
  22. manples macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #23
    transparency, same but different

    Sorry to revive an oldish thread. I have a very similar problem and have been reading up on this all day. But am not clear if there's anything I can do or if it's actually the printer's responsibility.
    In my case it's a one colour (black/greyscale) job and the boxes aren't thin white lines but a whole box shape making the % fill background slightly lighter when a drop shadowed object is over it. The object is angled and the box shape covers the whole area of the angled picture (i.e. square on, not angled). It's presumably the same issue, i.e. drop shadow/transparency and the software's ability to flatten or deal with it. But I can't figure if I should be going up a level or down a level when creating the pdf (i.e. to 1.4, 5 or 6?) and thus leave the transparency live or not.
    The printer has Acrobat 7 and uses FlowDrive and CTP technology. I did my layout in InDesign 3.0 and saved the original problem pdf as 1.4, I think. The problem is totally invisible in InD and Acrobat at any %. Even with Overprint preview on. It only appeared on the plate (or in fact its preview). Can I get the printer to change settings on his software to get past the problem? Communication is slow because they're in a different country. And time is getting short.
    If I can't solve it I'm going to have to go through and remove every drop shadow (and in spite of previous discussions on their being a blight on the face of graphic design, I'd quite like to keep them!)
    Any help appreciated. Thanks very much.
     
  23. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #24
    This is what was happening to me about a year ago. I don't know much about the mechanics of printing (and knew even less then), but I read that it had to do with overprinting. When I told my print shop that, they were able to fix it.

    That may be worthless info, but I'm afraid that's all the help I can offer.
     
  24. manples macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #25
    I'll pass it on to them though, thanks. Still waiting to hear back from them re my suggestions that there are settings on their software that they can change and which version of pdf is best.
     

Share This Page