iPad Pro Dropbox taking up 4.3 gig?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by emembee, Apr 20, 2019.

  1. emembee macrumors regular

    emembee

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Location:
    Surrey,UK
    #1
    I cant think why Dropbox is taking up so much space on my 10.5. I do not have any offline downloads setup, anyone know if this is just the normal size for it (using Settings General iPad Storage)?

    The only thing I changed recently was ARQ backup from my Mac which would use up a lot of space but this is held on the Dropbox server only, not on my iPad (or Mac).


    Thanks.
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors G3

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    I guess it is the cache? Even if you don’t download stuff for offline access, cache can still be generated. Maybe check that out.
     
  3. emembee thread starter macrumors regular

    emembee

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Location:
    Surrey,UK
    #3
    No idea how to check cache on iPad, is there such a tool available? (I use CleanMyMac on my MBP).
     
  4. AutomaticApple macrumors 65816

    AutomaticApple

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #4
    Cache? Are you sure?
     
  5. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
  6. Lee_Bo macrumors regular

    Lee_Bo

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #6
    Is anyone sharing a folder with you, or are you sharing anything with anyone else?
     
  7. JD2015 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    #7
    Clear the cache. The website link shows you how to do this.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/297840/how-to-clear-your-dropbox-cache-on-android-and-ios/
     
  8. emembee thread starter macrumors regular

    emembee

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Location:
    Surrey,UK
    #8
    Thanks for the replies, but clearing cache does very little, still showing as 4.64 GB for Documents and Data. The App Size ia 170.5 MB.

    Bit stuck so may contact Dropbox support, though fortunately I have plenty of space left on my iPad.
     
  9. JD2015 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
  10. emembee thread starter macrumors regular

    emembee

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Location:
    Surrey,UK
    #10
    This did it! No idea what was wrong, probably iOS bug in detailing space used. Thanks. Meanwhile will keep check on how it progresses.

    :)
     

Share This Page

9 April 20, 2019