Dropbox vs iCloud

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by stockcerts, Oct 22, 2014.

1. stockcerts macrumors 65816

I've been using Dropbox for several years and for the most part it's worked out well. I also use Adobe Lightroom and my catalog file has been kept in Dropbox so I could then access my pictures from my iMac at home, or my iPad Air...wherever I am. I have the free account, but I'm now running out of space and it would cost $20- a month for the next plan. iCloud offers additional storage that would meet my needs for .99 cents a month.

Has anyone else thought about transitioning over to iCloud for file storage? I was thinking I would give it a little more time since it's new.

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

I will dabble in iCloud and let it mature some
    Just like I do with Google Drive and OneDrive

I have bought into the Dropbox system and I am very comfortable using it
    Would take a lot for me to change completely at this point

3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

BasicGreatGuy

Until iCloud offers selective syncing etc., I am limiting my use of it. As it stands, I believe Dropbox is more versatile. iCloud comes across as some half-baked idea thus far.

4. stockcerts thread starter macrumors 65816

Dropbox has been good, I just don't feel like their pricing is competitive.

5. rhett7660 macrumors G4

rhett7660

I only use Dropbox at this point. I have a feeling now that iCloud can accept other documents outside of apple only documents I think more people will use it. I myself, will wait to see how well it works. I do not like the fact, iCloud is limited on space. Heck Apple won't even let you back up an entire 8 gig phone to the it. I feel they should give you the amount of storage you have purchased with a phone or tablet. If I have two devices, add up the space and let me back up both items.

But, Dropbox for me.

6. neutrino23 macrumors 68000