dropped calls...does changing SIM card help?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by psywzrd, Oct 30, 2008.

1. psywzrd macrumors 68030

I've been having problems with dropped calls on my 3G since I got it (I'm running 2.1). For the last 2 weeks I had 3G turned off and I didn't drop one call. Today I decided to turn on 3G and lo and behold the first call I made dropped (this is in a 3G area). I called Apple and they recommended a restore (which I don't want to do) or asking AT&T for a new SIM card. Has anyone with this problem solved it by getting a new SIM card? It doesn't seem like it would help but I'm new to GSM and have never had a SIM before. Is it possible that a faulty SIM card could be causing this problem? It would seem to be an iphone/AT&T problem but trying a new SIM is certainly easier than doing a restore and losing all of my emails. Any help is appreciated.

2. Flhusky macrumors 6502a

Flhusky

no.
    BUT you can do it so when you return the iPhone for service they have less ammo against you.

3. narjisse macrumors newbie

where do you need to go to get a replacement SIM card, Apple store, or ATT store?

4. ClayMac macrumors member

Here this might help: search for "Miracle Fix" in the apple Iphone 3g discussions area, a link I posted with my original response here didn't seem to work.

5. sergiuria macrumors 6502a

sergiuria

Hhhmmm.. Why would you be able to get a SIM card from apple? :rolleyes:
    You need to go to ATT

6. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

If you're talking about what I think you're talking about, all that thread recommends is turning on 3G until you get a signal, putting your phone into airplane mode for 30 seconds and then turning off airplane mode. That is most definitely not a solution for the dropped calls that are occurring.

7. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030