Dropping 3G changing to little circle

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by agentphish, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. agentphish macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Wondering why my VZ iphone is switching over tO what I thought is GPRS. I am in an area where I am currently getting 2 or 3 bars and sometimes it's 3G, other times its the small circle when I think is GPRS. Since I know there is 3G is there any way to make that stick?
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    Nope. Depends on 3G signal quality.
     
  3. Givmeabrek macrumors 68030

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
  4. snakelda macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Az.
  5. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #5
    On a GSM iPhone, it means GPRS (slower than EDGE). On the CDMA iPhone, it means 1xRRT (1.5G, basically).
     
  6. IJBrekke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    #6
    I've seen it do this too, but it seems to switch back to 3g fairly quickly. It must be a catch-all in case the 3g signal fades in any way.
     
  7. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Well I am currently not at home. I Am on vacation in a more remote Place so I'm guessing that's why. Strange thing is that there is only one VZ tower around so I don't quite get why the 3G is cutting out. The service at home is wonderful and fast.

    I do use a case but it is extremely minimal.
     
  8. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    Actually, 1XRTT, which is 3G voice, and very slow data, but because it is technically 3G for CDMA is what VZW bases their map on, not their actual EV-DO coverage.

    TEG
     
  9. mpossoff macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #9
    It's not comparable 3G like AT&T's?
     
  10. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    What's funny is that the VZ map I checked before I came here said there was no coverage whatsoever. However I'm good.
     
  11. smithrh macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #11
    For the most part, if Verizon has coverage, it's both 1X and EVDO.

    Exceptions exist, of course, which is why the OP is having the problem, but it's nothing like the disparity that AT&T has between Edge and UMTS.
     
  12. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #12
    It is 3G cellular, but comparable to GPRS or EDGE in terms of speeds and uses. It is the voice component for CDMA 3G, and the reason that you can do voice and data at the same time.

    TEG
     

Share This Page