Dropping a Westmere into a 2009 Mac Pro using 2010 EFI

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DSchwartz88, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. DSchwartz88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #1
    Before everyone says "IT DOESNT HAVE B1 STEPPING!!!" hear me out.

    The new 2010 Mac Pro's that were just released have options for both the 4-8 core and 6-12 core option. This coupled with the fact that nothing has changed other than graphics cards etc. makes me think if someone could extract the EFI code, they could just drop it into an 09 and it would include B1 stepping, so people like me could just drop in a 3.33 Westmere and call it a day.

    Again, I have no idea about anything EFI, it just seems like much more a possbility now that both the 4-8 core and 6-12 core versions are running on basically the same machine.

    Ideas? Thoughts? Comments? Concerns?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #3
    I personally think the board etc are EXACTLY the same.

    All they've changed is the GPU and CPU lineup.

    Find a way of extracting the EFI and updating the 2009 Mac Pro and you have a 2010 Mac Pro, just like that. :cool:
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    This is not trivial. I don't see it happening.

    The only way I could see this happening is if Apple releases a firmware update for the 2010 machines sometime down the line and a hacker is able to get it to install in an 09 by overcomming any system check the firmware does.

    It would be nice if Apple simply provided the 2010 firmware for 2009 machines, but that's not in their nature. :(
     
  5. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #5
    It's unbelievable to me that we have smart people around here who can put together Hackintoshes with an inordinate amount of code customization but we can't seem to be able to pull Apple's EFI firmware and move it to another machine?
     
  6. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    It just occurred to me that the Apple firmware is probably encrypted, making any hacks to it impossible.

    The only likely way to update the firmware is to update the entire logic board upon which the firmware chip resides... making it an expensive proposition that will make upgrading the whole machine a more viable option.
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    EFI is harder to work with than BIOS, and there's fewer resources available as well. This will make it harder to accomplish IMO.
     
  8. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #8
    There must be some other differences in order to run 1333 ram speed in the hex chips.
     
  9. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #9
    There are no physical logic board updates necessary for anything Apple has announced. Even faster memory bus speeds, don't require any physical board changes.
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    Yep.

    I was originally just looking at the store's page, not the MP page, and hadn't spotted that 1333MHz is now going to be supported. Nice they got that fixed. :D
     
  11. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #11
    It's X58 chipset in a different form. The 2009 supports it, it just needs the correct EFI.
     
  12. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    Unfortunately the only way that would likely happen is if there are some major flaws with the 2010 machines which can only be fixed with an EFI update. The likelihood of this is actually quite small in my opinion though since if they are using basically the same boards as in the 2009 Mac Pros then they've had what, a year and a half to find all the bugs?
     
  13. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #13
    I will offer a $100 bounty to anyone who can enable my 2009 Mac Pro to reliably run the new 6-core CPU parts. Anyone else?
     
  14. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #14
    Apple issued an EFI 1.4 update to 2009 Mac Pro in January of this year. Any chance that may have quietly added support for the new CPUs?
     
  15. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #15
    Not likely, particularly as that was before any of the 32nm parts shipped from Intel. Granted, board makers/system vendors would have had Engineering Samples to work with, it would have been too soon for it to be validated properly.
     
  16. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #16
    We need to wait for any update for Mac Pro 2010 EFI. Then modify it to support Mac Pro 2009 and we're done ;)

    If something fails Mac Pro will open Superdrive tray prompting for firmware restoration CD :)
     
  17. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #17
    Can't we use the 2010 Firmware restoration CD to do this?

    Or is that only released when Apple release a firmware for it...
     
  18. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    In this case, you'd need to wait for a newer edition that includes the ROM file for the 2010 systems.

    As per making it work, you'd need an EFI Flash Utility that won't look for Apple's authentication (just proceeds to flash the ROM with the directed source file). Even then, it may not work if there's any difference, such as an offset to the start location (burn starts at some other ROM address instead of the first location).
     
  19. Tutor, Jul 28, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  20. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #20
    I wish this thread was deleted, it will shed light on something Apple can easily prevent, and something they really would like to. until the actual release I suggest any talk or work or progress is discussed on other places - irc channel maybe. I definately won't share mine here.
     
  21. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #21
    Definitely not a bad idea.
     

Share This Page