Drops in Bathroom

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by chezza, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. chezza macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi.
    My touch has great Wi-Fi signal across my house, except when I go into my bathroom the signal drops to nothing! Is this like a virus or a bug or something?
     
  2. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
  3. lellis2k macrumors 6502

    lellis2k

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #3
    lol who's isnt? love it!
     
  4. Bunji macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #4
    why the hell would you be using wifi in your bathroom, you streaming porn or something
     
  5. Dublo7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, Australia.
    #5
    Ahaha, a virus?

    Maybe your bathroom is furthest away from the router? Maybe the walls in your bathroom are thicker than the rest of the house?
     
  6. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #6
    Go to settings and enable iTouchMyself™ mode. In addition to increasing wifi signal strength around porcelain and tile, it adds an extra layer of security.
     
  7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    It sounds like a sign not to take the thing in there to drop in the toilet accidentally, as so many others have done.
     
  8. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #8

    You rule. :D
     
  9. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #9
    Truth be known, the Wi-Fi signal is a bit of a disappointment for me.

    My router is down stairs, and my Mac gets a full signal but the touch sitting next to it struggles and drops the connection quite often.
     
  10. adiemask macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #10
    You gotta 'Mac' in the Bathroom!!!?
     
  11. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #11
    Not quite, off on a tangent from the Bathroom, I'm in my bedroom now. ;)
     
  12. RedDragon870503 macrumors 6502

    RedDragon870503

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
  13. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #13
    Ha! Lol!

    Your iPod Touch WiFi range wont be as good as your Mac. Just wait for a few minutes while you do your thing, THEN use your iPod!
     
  14. ShanePod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    does the signal strength work better if you turn off your macs wifi?
     
  15. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #15

    I have a 3400 sq foot home with two levels. My wifi router is in my corner office and the Touch has no problem picking up signal throughout my house.
     
  16. Vigilante macrumors 6502a

    Vigilante

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Florida.
    #16
    Demi-god indeed.
     
  17. mrhockey123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #17
    My friend, have I got the solution for you!
    (from Wiki...see Google's April fools jokes)
     
  18. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #18
    Sounds like a "crappy" wireless access point... :p
     
  19. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #19
    Nope. That Wi-Fi is always off.
     
  20. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #20
    It's obviously not a PowerBook or you wouldn't have something with a poorer connection.
     
  21. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #21
    Maybe it's something to do with the copper water pipes in the walls.
     
  22. Kenal0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #22

    Just put an aiport express in the bathroom outlet. You might have some explaining to do when guests come over but it is none of their business anyway.
     
  23. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #23
    Nah, Mac Mini.

    I dunno, the Wi-Fi signal seems to be all over the place, one mo it'll be full then not moving it a long way, it'll drop the connection.
     
  24. kbrain2929 macrumors regular

    kbrain2929

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    The Ville', KY
    #24
    Confession.... I have cat5 drops in my bathroom! My house is really big, 5,000 sq.ft. and I had networking ran through the entire houee when it was being built. I also had wireless antennas put in the attic and basement and one on the outside of the house. They're awesome. Ok... I admit it, I'm a pure geek! But, my house is a "smart Apple" house. :D :apple:
     
  25. mjtfield macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #25
    re WiFi dropouts: CORDLESS phones interefere

    hi - i am totally new so please be gentle. ;-)

    just got my iPod Touch the other day. totally happy with it other than the WiFi element. it "craps" out (sorry, couldn't resist since we're talking about the toilet) pretty much 98% of the time (but i don't really care about the WiFi so much - it kills the battery and i'm after the PDA-like data addressbook and soon to come -so i've heard- iCal-data input capabilities) and so i called Apple Support.

    i was informed after the initial tech had to put me on hold that apparently they have just determined that because it has no stand-alone network like the iPhone that the WiFi on the Touch runs into massive intereference when operating around CORDLESS (not wireless) networks of 2.8GHz or higher.

    we have a 5.8GHz cordless digital phone system here in our home and that's causing the problem for my iPod. don't know 'bout you all, but most Starbucks i've been around also have cordless phone systems too.

    he told me they're working on the issue and that fixing it should be nothing more than sending a patch to the software via a standard iPod update when syncing up iTunes... i don't know if it's that simple, but that's the story i got.

    hope that helps.
     

Share This Page