DSLR Video - Would this focus aid work with this lens?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by igmolinav, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. igmolinav, Jan 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012

    igmolinav macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    Would this focus aid work with this lens ??
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...211105722.8442.121284431240400&type=1&theater

    This is the lens. It is an autofocus lens:
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/554035-REG/Tokina_ATX116PRODXC_11_16mm_f_2_8_AT_X_116.html

    Thank you, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!

    P.S. Do you think it was better if this thread should have been posted
    in the digital photography forum ??

    P.S.2. My interest in that focus aid is because apparently it is one of
    the most inexpensive ones on the market! Would you like to recommend
    another one ??
     
  2. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Hi,

    Thank you : ) !!! I wonder if with such
    a lens is not harder to focus than lenses
    just meant to be manual lenses. I
    wonder, if it is not very hard for people
    to focus using lenses that are
    manufactured as autofocus (and manual)
    lenses.

    I am also looking at this lens:
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/425812-USA/Canon_1242B002AA_EF_S_17_55mm_f_2_8_IS.html

    and this one:
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/554030-REG/Tokina_ATXM35PRODXC_35mm_f_2_8_AT_X_M35.html

    What focusing aids are you using ??

    Thank you, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  3. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #4
    The point of these add-on follow-focuses is that you can put any lens on there... but all the lenses you show are wide/ultra wide. Don't see how a follow focus will help you there much, especially at f2.8, seeing as a lot of the image will already be in focus.

    A follow focus is really helpful with a zoom lens that can close up to f1.4/1.8 where you have a shallow depth of field.
     
  4. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    Hi,

    Thank you : ) !!!

    I see what you mean! I'll post later on other lenses
    that I am also interested to work with. Some have
    larger apertures, others don't.

    I'll write again tonight. Due to my budget, the
    camera I'll be using is in DX format, not full frame.

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  5. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    You may possibly need different size rings. The 17-55 and the 11-16 (I have both) are 77 MM at the lens but the barrels are not (the Tokina is skinnier). Depending on the amount of adjust-ability on the ring means you could technically use the same ring but maybe not. New rings are cheap and ideally you want one for each lens anyway.

    Also, most follow focuses comes with multiple gear sizes to accommodate smaller or bigger rings. My follow focus (proaim) has 4 gears and 3 rings and I can use it with anything from my tiny primes to my monster 82mm (ring size not focal length) sigma.

    ----------

    Maybe not the 11-16 but I can get really shallow DOF with my 17-55 (I own both). This whole scene is less than 2' from foreground to background. Zero PP was done except for color correction.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #7
    I have found that when shooting with the 11-16 I enjoy being able to get in really close and find that there is a shallow depth of field probably within one metre to the subject. The great this is though that it is not as shallow as other lenses so it is quite easy to correct by hand and eye whilst shooting even on run and gun style productions.
     
  7. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8
    Hi,

    Thank you for your posts : ) !!!

    I may have other related
    questions in the future. It
    would be very helpful to send
    you a PM.

    Kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  8. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9
    Hi,

    By the way, have you seen this video shot with a Zeiss ZE 35 mm. f/1.4 and
    a Canon EOS 5D Mark II ??:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_xnW1p-9fU

    I don't usually listen to Pitbull, but I liked this tune ; ) !!!

    I am thinking to use lenses from other brand names than Canon. These lenses can't send any information to the camera. The camera will have to do the metering alone.

    Doing video with the Canon EOS Rebel T3i, with a non-Canon lens wide
    open, wouldn't be a problem for a camera like it in order to produce video.
    Would it be??

    Do you guys usually shoot or have to shoot wide open?

    Thank you, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  9. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #10
    The Zeiss ZE lenses can be controlled by the camera. The only thing you don't get is autofocus because they're manual lenses.

    What other types of lenses do you want to try that don't have manual aperture rings? They do sell adapters that give you electronic control.

    I'm not sure it's really worth looking at a lens where you're forced to use it only at its open setting.
     
  10. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    Hi Pete,

    I am looking at a Zeiss 25 mm., f/2, in M42 mount. This lens with the M42 mount, has a reduced price. With an adapter, it can be used on a Canon camera. In contrast to the Canon, Nikon, and Pentax mounts, this one is the plain lens.

    I understand one has to open the diafragm in order to focus. I wonder if Canon is able to meter when the lens is stopped down at any desired aperture.

    Thank you, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  11. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #12
    You have two options. Set the camera to Aperture Priority mode, which will adjust the shutter speed automatically for proper exposure. Or you set the camera on Manual and set the aperture on the lens itself and shutter speed through the camera. Regardless, the camera's internal meter should read light levels like it would with any other lens.

    I'm still not sure what you mean by "opening up the diaphragm" in order to focus. You should be able to focus like any other manual lens.
     
  12. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #13
    Hi Pete,

    Thank you : ) !!! I see what you mean. The camera should be able to meter at f/2, but also at f/8 or f/11 or at greater aperture values.

    (Sorry, by diafragm, I meant aperture. If one is shooting at f/16, one will have to have the aperture fully open to focus with this M42 mount lens, and then one will have to close the aperture to meter. One loses time. I am assuming the ZE lens, (that is more expensive), works like any other canon lens but without the autofocus. One, focuses manually, and if one wants to shoot at any aperture value, say f/11, the lens will stop down automatically. This will help apparently you save you a bit of time when doing a street shot. For a landscape or a person sitting, it may not be necessary).

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  13. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #14
    I'm still not sure why you'd have to open up the aperture just to focus. You should be able to focus under any aperture setting.

    Glad I could be of some help though.
     
  14. igmolinav, Jan 31, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012

    igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #15
    Hi Pete,

    Thank you again : ) !!!

    No, my perception is that Zeiss lenses with M42 mount have no electronic
    connection to the camera. The camera will understand that
    there is a lens attached to the camera and therefore it will
    release the shutter when you press the shutter's button.

    My understanding is, that with these M42 mount lenses, one has
    the lens' aperture being opened or closed as one may need it.
    Say, at f/2, this particular lens will have the aperture wide open.
    At f/22, just slightly open. However, at the time of pressing the
    shutter of the camera. The shutter will only open and then close,
    not having any effect on the aperture of the lens. A regular Canon,
    Nikon, even Zeiss ZE, or ZF.2, will go from being fully open, f/2,
    to any desired aperture value, e.g. f/16, via the pressing of the
    shutter botton.

    In several 35 mm. rangefinder cameras this is
    perhaps easier to observe. The aperture is set in the lens. The lens
    has no connection with the shutter of the camera. One composes
    the image through a separate viewfinder that has a telemeter.
    With the DSLR and the M42 mount, mi perception is that a process
    similar to the rangefinder takes place. However, focusing is through
    the lens. So,one will have to open the aperture fully open in order to
    focus, and then one will need to stop down the lens to the desired
    aperture in order to take the picture.

    Kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     

Share This Page