DTS to AC3 Setup Problems

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by xfiring, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. xfiring macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #1
    This is a little technical. I am trying to run through this http://www.macosxhints.com/comment.php?mode=view&cid=113824
    and am having the following problem, "bin is not a directory".

    For some reason it is saying that usr/local/bin does not exist. It does exist I can browse to it using terminal. However, I can not do a "cd bin" as I get bin is not a directory message.

    Does anyone have any idea what is going on? I am on Snow Leopard.

    Here are the permission on bin:

    -rwxr-xr-x@ 1 root wheel 2275152 Dec 20 10:16 bin

    Here are permission on share in the same 'local' directory:

    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 Dec 20 10:45 share

    As bin is missing the d and just starts with a -, is that the problem?
     
  2. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #2
  3. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #3
    Thanks, but on yours step one I get cmake_install not found after it downloads in terminal window.
     
  4. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #4
  5. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
  6. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #6
    Did you do the mkdir step? Also try mine again I put code markers in it so maybe that was causing trouble.
     
  7. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #7
    No go. I'll try another mini that is still on Leopard and see if it works.
     
  8. hpereyda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #8
    I get the same message on step one.

    Yes I have X-code install and I am logged in as Admin and I did the mkdir.
     
  9. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Are you guys saying that the following does not work:

    mkdir /ConverterTemp
    cd /ConverterTemp/
    curl -O http://www.cmake.org/files/v2.8/cmake-2.8.0.tar.gz


    Works for me on 10.6

    about /usr/local/bin, it exists as a directory on my machine, but it is possible I added it myself (don't remember). However, you can just make a "/bin" directory in your home directory (unless other users need to do the dts2ac3 convertion). I think it automatically is added to your path when you log back in. Check:

    echo $PATH

    somewhere there should be a line saying:

    /Users/[yourusername]/bin/

    If not, add it yourself (using bash, which is terminals default):

    PATH=$PATH\:/Users/[yourusername]/bin/

    Now just replace all references of /usr/local/bin with /Users/[yourusername]/bin/
     
  10. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #10
    Maybe it is a Snow Leopard/Leopard thing because I am running SL on both my mini and my 27" iMac and they both worked perfectly fine just copy and pasting those commands into the terminal. Because the original guy that came up with this procedure he does say Snow Leopard on his article.
     
  11. hpereyda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #11
  12. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #12
    problem executing

    Got it installed on Leopard (Snow Leopard still will not work for me). Anyways here is what I am doing:

    1.) Opening terminal
    2.) Typing in the following mkvdts2ac3 /Volumes/Mini Stack/moviename.mkv
    3.) I get the following error no matter what I try

    ERROR: You cannot supply any arguments after the filename. Please check the command syntax below against what has been parsed.
    Control Flags:
    Strip DTS:
    Keep DTS:
    Set AC3 default:
    External AC3:
    DTS track:
    MKV file: /Volumes/Mini

    Debugging Flags:
    Print commands: 0
    Pause after print: 0
    Execute commands: 1

    Usage: /usr/local/bin/mkvdts2ac3 [options] <filename>
    Options:
    -d, --default Mark AC3 track as default.
    -e, --external Leave AC3 track out of file. Does not modify the
    original matroska file. This overrides '-n' and
    '-d' arguments.
    -c TITLE, Custom AC3 track title.
    --custom TITLE
    -k, --keep-dts Keep external DTS track (implies '-n').
    -n, --no-dts Do not retain the DTS track.
    -o MODE Pass a custom audio output mode to libdca.
    -t TRACKID,
    --track TRACKID Specify alternate DTS track.
    -w FOLDER,
    --wd FOLDER Specify alternate temporary working directory.

    --test Print commands only, execute nothing.
    --debug Print commands and pause before executing each.

    -h, --help Print command usage.
    -v, --version Print script version information.

    Thanks
     
  13. paol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    Working fine under Snow Leopard for me, using the instructions in this link: http://www.lprestonsegoiii.com/2009/...-snow-leopard/

    However, I downloaded the latest version of the script, 1.5.0 from the authors site. The one in the link is 1.3 I think.

    I usually type in mkvdts2ac3 -n, then drag the file into the terminal window to get the path right.

    Looks like the space in your path is what is giving you trouble. Drag the file into the terminal window instead. I still recommend downloading the latest script.
     
  14. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #14
    Thanks dragging the file works. Does anyone know what bitrate the new AC3 stream is?

    Since I couldn't get this working last night I downloaded some Windows apps for the Popcorn hour called Audio Converter. It let me pick the bitrate which I maxed out at 620 kbs.

    Does anyone know what the resulting files of the above scripts in Mac OSX provide?
     
  15. paol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    Default AC3 bitrate for aften is 96k per channel, or 448 kb for 5.1.

    The script can be modded to set aften to encode in 640 kb, which I have done and it is working nicely. Add -b 640 after aften -v in the script. Or do the steps manually.
     
  16. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #16
    Answered my own question by looking into terminal window, it is 448 kbs.
     
  17. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #17
    Where in the script do I modify?

    Is it here: echo "> dcadec -o wavall \"$DTSFILE\" | aften - \"$AC3FILE\""

    or here: dcadec -o $AUDIOMODE "$DTSFILE" | aften - "$AC3FILE"

    I don't have an aften -v the above are all I can find.

    Thanks
     
  18. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #18
    And while we are at it, can we bump aften up to 1500 kbps or is 620 the max bitrate we can achieve?

    Thanks.
     
  19. paol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
    640 is the max specified for Blue-Ray, 448 for DVD. 640 is working excellent in my amplifier, but I have never tested higher since that is out of spec.

    If you do try I'd be interested to know if ATV accepts it and if your receiver can play it. I can't try myself since I am not at home right now.
     
  20. paol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #20
    You don't have -v since you are using an old script. Do download the latest, http://github.com/JakeWharton/mkvdts2ac3/
    But in any case, its at your second line I think, like this: dcadec -o $AUDIOMODE "$DTSFILE" | aften -b 640 "$AC3FILE"

    The latest version may give an error "--B not supported" or something like that, but it still works.

    I hope it will work for you. After changing the script you will have to redo the following commands:
    sudo chmod 755 mkvdts2ac3.sh
    cp /ConverterTemp/mkvdts2ac3/mkvdts2ac3.sh /ConverterTemp/mkvdts2ac3/mkvdts2ac3
    sudo cp /ConverterTemp/mkvdts2ac3/mkvdts2ac3 /usr/local/bin/
     
  21. xfiring thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #21
    Works fantastic, thank you!

    Do you know if you can que up many at a time, for instance open up 10 terminal windows and let each one go?? I have quite a few movies to convert.

    Thanks
     
  22. paol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #22
    I have no idea. But I imagine it will go slow if it works since most of the time is spent reading the dts track and writing in the ac3 track to disk.

    I'd like the script to be able to process all files in folder, one after each other.

    I have had some occurences where the newly created ac3 track has been silent, or the resulting file corrupted, without error messages. It can be a good idea to have a backup or keep the dts track.
     

Share This Page