Dual 1.8GHZ Power Mac G5: how far can it go?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by xplod850, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. xplod850 macrumors newbie

    xplod850

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #1
    i picked up a Dual 1.8ghz Power Mac G5 for free this past weekend. i runs great but i only has a single gig of ram. its part number (M9454LL/A) says it can only take a maximum of 4 gigs of ram via 1x4 slots. just wondering if anyone has put more into one of these, or if its not worth my time.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    I worked on a PowerMac G5 1.8 GHz with 8GB RAM last year, so it seems possible.

    But looking at MacTracker I'm not so sure anymore.
     
  3. xplod850 thread starter macrumors newbie

    xplod850

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3

    there are a couple of differant versions of it, some of the previous single 1.8s supported 8 gigs, but for mine it says 4... i want more!!!!
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    Nope you're stuck with only 4gb. I had that same machine though and with 2GB+ and it will fly. I actually had both models, the one with 4 slots and the other with 8 slots. Oh and a better video card besides the stock FX.

    DDR memory is still kinda expensive though for the name brand stuff. Good luck on that. You got yourself a nice computer.
     
  5. xplod850 thread starter macrumors newbie

    xplod850

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #5

    great thanks for finalizing that for me, ill order it tonight then
     
  6. Abidubi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal
    #6
    If you want it as fast as it can be, you want 4 gigs of ram, a X800/X850 or nvidia 6800 and 2 big fast HDs. You can also buy an attachment to install 3 more HDs inside if you buy a PCI HD expansion card.
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    If you only need 1 DVI and can live with second monitor port being VGA, go with an Nvidia 7800GS. (Ebay)

    They are CHEAPER than OEM X800/X850/6800 and can run circles around them.
     
  8. frimple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #8
    I came to this thread thinking it was about how far you could throw one...:p
     
  9. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #9
    When I got my G5 it came with 2GB, which was actually fine. I upgraded it to 6 because I had some extra ram after a PC upgrade, but it never uses more then 3GB.

    I would say 2 or 3 is fine, don't waste your hard earned money on 4GB (unless its really really cheap).
     
  10. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #10
    How'd you manage to get a Powermac G5 for free??!
     

Share This Page