Dual 24" LED cinema displays

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aramosc, May 22, 2011.

  1. aramosc macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Hi everyone.

    I was wondering if anybody has a dual 24" LED cinema display setup with a mac pro. What graphics card (s) are you using what are you doing with the speakers and webcam? is it worth it? do you have them mounted or just resting on the stock stand? Did you but the monitors new or used? I bought the first one for 300 with some time left on applecare on craigslist which was just a crazy deal but I am still looking for the second one.. also I have a geforce 120 and i would either get a second geforce 120 or get a 5770 and sell the 120. let me know what you guys think.. Thanks in advance!:apple:
     
  2. chachlate macrumors newbie

    chachlate

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #2
    I'm on a mac pro 4,1 working with the GeForce card you have. I run a dual monitor setup with a cinemaview CV24 (minidisplay port) and a samsung syncmaster B2230 (DVI). Have you considered getting a secondary monitor which isn't exactly the same so you can use your DVI connection, and saving a lot of money that way by not having to buy another display card? My samsung monitor is great, and it's tough to beat the price. what would you do with two webcams anyway? :)
     
  3. aramosc, May 22, 2011
    Last edited: May 22, 2011

    aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    I have but I cant stand the looks of having mismatching monitors.. granted I'd have a wasted webcam but the ACD is just a gorgeous display and if I can get a second one for 300 or 400 It's about the same price as a Dell. I was also thinking on just upgrading to the 5770 instead of getting another 120 I got a really good deal on a second 120 ($50) so i might sell both 120's they are going for $70-$90 on ebay so I could buy the 5770 and get some money leftover.
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    I run dual 24" ACD on my 2009 via dual GT120s. It's a wicked setup (IMHO) :p

    Unless you need the added performance for gaming, just add another GT120.
     
  5. Mr Ski 73 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #5
    Hi I have twin 24" cinema displays running from a MP 1.1 with a ATI Radeon 5770 graphics card and it runs like a dream :D
     
  6. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    I just came across a good deal on a GeForce 120 for $50 so I bought it.. now I'm debating if I'm going to sell the two 120s for about $170 and then 5770s are going for 150-200 so It would be little to no extra money.. what do you guys think? any pics on your dual 24" setup?
     
  7. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    I say just keep the GT 120s

    Here's my setup...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. tktaylor1 macrumors 6502a

    tktaylor1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #8
    I'm a fan of the brick wall :D
     
  9. Repo macrumors 6502a

    Repo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #9
    Beautiful. Do you professionally work with audio?

    Thanks for the link! I'm curious though if Apple has patents on the design.
     
  10. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    You ment it when you said wicked! its awesome! very nice room! I think i'm going to keep the 2 120s hopefully I can buy the sencond ACD soon..
     
  11. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    Here's my setup soon to add a second ACD
     

    Attached Files:

  12. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #12
    No, but I use to work with video and do some voice over. Even if I didn't I'm so done with crap computer speakers... I will never go back :)

    Thanks. After many years using dual displays, a second monitor is almost a psychological necessity for me now. I find if I'm working on a system with only one monitor (even if it's 2560x1600) I feel constrained without a second display to park stuff on etc.
     
  13. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #13
    I'm in the same place.. I used to have a fual monitor but now all i have is 1 24 and a 40" tv but that cand be used for "computering" so I'm just waiting for a good deal on a 24" to pull the trigger..
     
  14. Repo macrumors 6502a

    Repo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #14
    You have a good setup for NF monitoring. What speaker brand?
     
  15. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #15
    Yeah thanks... they are Blue Sky Pro Desk Sat 5 MkII with a matching Sub 8 to make a very nice 2.1 setup. I listened to a lot of monitors before I settled on these and got them on sale for a very reasonable price at Guitar Center in the US. $700 for the set I think (about half the list price). Combined with the Lexicon U22 they provide an outstanding solution for less than the cost of a 24" ACD (that was my weak attempt to keep this slightly on topic :eek:).
     
  16. DeeEss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #16
    I would, to anyone wanting dual monitors, recommend the NEC Monitors or any monitor with internal LUT's and Hardware calibration. I run two Spectraview LCD2690's off one graphics card and as the monitors look after their own colour they are perfectly balanced and you can't distinguish any difference between the two.
     
  17. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #17
    I already have one 24" ACD that's why I'm looking for the second. But I dont really do much work that requires colour precision but even if I did the ACD has pretty accurate colours and the webcam and mic which I do use on a daily basis.. the only bad thing is that they are pricey and I have to be patient to get a solid deal on one..
     
  18. runmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #18
    Room Very Cool....
     
  19. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #19
    I decided not to get the second ACD.. and get some speakers instead.. I got a nice pair from Swan. I'll let you guys know how they are and post some pics of the finished setup.. I also did some rearranging and painting.. I'll post some pics once it's finished.. and I'm selling the spare GeForce 120 that i had gotten.
    Thanks to all of you guys for your help and opinions!
     
  20. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #20
    So here it is! I painted the walls, put some art up, dyed the chair, installed a telephone, put the macbook air in the drawer for "docking" and installed the swans. Finally done!:D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  21. aramosc thread starter macrumors regular

    aramosc

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #22
    Thanks!
     

Share This Page