Dual 4850s in the post.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by swiss tony, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. swiss tony macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #1
    Should be here tomorow, will post the results.
    Yes i only run windows.
    Yes i do play games now and then.
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #2
    Why did you not wait for the 4870? Which apparently smokes the 9800GX2.
     
  3. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #3
    You bought a Mac Pro to run Windows exclusively?

    Everyone, ready the tar and feathers. Congrats and I don't blame you one bit; I think the Mac Pro is the prettiest PC ever made by any company, bar none.
     
  4. Tracer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #4
    4850's in Crossfire look to be a pretty sweet price point for all those FPS.

    Tracer
     
  5. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #5
    Windows is lame. Put Solaris on. :D

    Congrats on the 4850s. I am picking one up soon for my windows box too. I don't want a 4870 - too much power draw. Gotta keep the power bill down.
     
  6. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #6
    Actually it smokes the GTX 280 more than half the time, nVidia's $600 high-end offering.

    But two 4850s is going to outstrip a 4850, which is nothing more than a higher-clocked 4870 with 3.6 GHz GDDR5 memory. I don't think you could even run two 4870s,.. though I could be wrong.

    Anyway, maybe he'd rather pay $400 than $600 ;x
     
  7. cxc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    #7
    Hi,
    I also have one 4850 in the mail which should be sufficient for my needs.
    Have you had any luck in finding these 6pin pcie to 6 pin mini pci connector cables that you need to hook up the card to the MP logic board?
     
  8. ZeelessOne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #8
    The 4870 requires 2 6-pin power adapters, and the Mac Pro only has two, so dual 4870s is out of the question.

    That said, what the heck dude! If you're just running Windows and games, the Mac Pro is way more than you need! If you're using as a workstation too, though...
     
  9. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #9
    Ya but when the next Farcry Crisys Gen Episode XIII comes out - I am sure the octo core will come in handy. :D
     
  10. cxc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    #10
    On a side note: would it be possible to install a cheap Mac 2600xt and PC 4850 at the same time? The Windows part shouldn´t be a problem as one and the same driver could be installed, no?
    I would assume OS X would simply ignore the PC 4850. So, everything should be fine ;)
     
  11. swiss tony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #11
    Got some pci-e connectors from ebay for $40 for two. I do alot of architectural CAD and rendering which is why i use a mac pro. Just got an email order is delayed until tomorow! I can't afford or install two 4870 there is not four pci-e power points!

    Quit with the not using mac OSX crap. I use windows because thats where my software and experience lies, its not some stab at OSX which is a great OS. It simply isnt what I prefer!
     
  12. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #12
    Congratulations on the Dual 4850s. :)
    Have you tried running Crysis on them?
    Can Crysis finally be maxed out with Dual 4850s or do we need Quad 4870s CrossFired to max out Crysis? :eek:
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Okay. I'm just wondering why you'd choose a Mac Pro, then.
     
  14. Andrew Henry macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #14
    Probably because it's just as powerful in windows as it is in OS X, plus it looks great.
     
  15. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #15
    And it's also the cheapest workstation available.
     
  16. swiss tony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
  17. cxc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    #17
    + lots of gear that actually does fully support all 8 cores and sse4 like all the nice x264 frontends that can deal with br + native avchd editing are all on Windows. So that´s where I usually am.
     
  18. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #18
    I can't say that I've poked around in my MacPro for longer than it took to add extra hard drives but can't you just get a Molex -> PCI-E power adapter for the extra card? Or are there no spare molex connectors around? What about for the second optical drive?
     
  19. swiss tony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #19
    aparently makes the system unstable as it isnt designed for that power draw. Which is pretty dry.
     
  20. swiss tony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #20
    Well im running crossfire 4850s in windows vista x64 ultimate on the mac pro. Currently installing sofware will keep updating.
     
  21. Tracer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
  22. swiss tony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #22
    currently at 1680x1050. Runs crysis at very high 8xAA
     

Share This Page