dual boot lion and SL?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by tjsdaname, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. tjsdaname macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    cedar rapids IA
    #1
    I have lion installed right now, I am wondering if I can make a partition for SL and dual boot from that?

    are there any problems I would have???

    thanks.
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    It will depend on the Mac you have and the firmware.
    Were yo uable to run Snow Leopard before? If yes, then yes you can.
    If it is a brand new one, that came with Lion, then something else needs to be done...but I think Apple is kind of forcing them to run Lion.
     
  3. tjsdaname thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    cedar rapids IA
    #3
    I'm using a 1st gen 27" iMac.

    so I should be good to just go ahead and try it?
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
  5. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #5
    No problem. The only thing is that once you start having one partition with all your documents and apps, the other will be missing some of them, and then you have to remember where things are.
    I have 2 drives in my MBP, one with Lion and other with Snow Leopard.
    The Lion one is an SSD 256GB and the Snow Leopard one is 1TB.
    All my photos, videos and music are still in the Snow Leopard drive and no problems at all, just my disorganization with the data.
     
  6. tjsdaname thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    cedar rapids IA
    #6
    that would work perfect. I just want the SL partition for web browsing and such.
    it's almost impossible with lion at this point..

    I will try it out tonight.
    thanks.
     
  7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    I Am Going To Have A Go

    I'd like both on my iMac, I've got a little spare time between projects, just upgraded my iMac to 16GB and have large NAS capacity, I don't know why I want to do it, just seems like having SL back might be nice.

    Im one of the few that really has no issue with Lion..Hmm

    I do have Lion only apps though, so can see how this could become complicated. Might give it a shot!
     
  8. wikus macrumors 68000

    wikus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Planet earth.
    #8
    Not true.

    My 2 week old MacBook Pro came with Lion and not only did I successfully upgrade to 10.6.8, I also completely removed the Lion recovery partition. I had to 'acquire' the early 2011 10.6.6 Install discs that came with the macbook pros.

    I did have a few glitches when first installing Snow Leopard; two finger scrolling did not work, some of the function keys for display brightness and others werent working, etc. An update to 10.6.8 fixed everything and its been smooth sailing since.

    Love that fact that my memory usage is low, the laptop runs cooler and lasts longer on batteries as well as having a properly functioning Expose (Lions version of Expose is stripped down and bloated with mission control).
     
  9. BigDukeSix macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #9
    What was your procedure to make it all work? And, what version of SL were you installing to begin with?
     

Share This Page