Dual-core G5 CPU Upgrade?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by redheeler, Dec 24, 2015.

  1. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #1
    Does anyone know if it's possible to upgrade a dual-core 2 GHz Power Mac G5 to a 2.3 GHz or even a 2.5 GHz CPU? I read here that it's not possible on the dual-processor models due to differences in the logic boards, but I'm still not quite sure about the dual-core models.

    The 2.3 and 2.5 CPUs are fairly inexpensive on eBay, and it'd be worth it to get an extra bit of performance out of my G5.
     
  2. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #2
    from some research I did with @Surrat and checking out his Dual core 2.3Ghz 11,2 you should be able to in theory fit a single dual core 2.5Ghz 970MP CPU module (I had him check the max bus speed of the logic board and it came back as 1250Mhz aka 1.25Ghz aka half of 2.5Ghz LOL) if you want boot your G5 into ASD and go to i think its something like system info and check your max bus speed if its 1250Mhz then you can fit a 2.3Ghz or 2.5Ghz 970MP CPU if its only 1Ghz then your stuck with what you got and if its only 1.15Ghz then your max is 2.3Ghz.
     
  3. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #3
    I once upgraded a dual core from 2.0 to 2.3 and no issues. have not tried 2.5
     
  4. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    Thanks for your replies, I have finally gotten around to trying the 2.3 CPU. The "checkstop" LED stays on and no chime. Tried it in two separate G5s, both dual-core 2.0 models. I assume either the processor I got is bad or isn't compatible...
     
  5. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    I ordered another dual 2.3 GHz CPU to attempt the upgrade again, and I'm happy to report this one works just fine, with a bus speed of 1.15 GHz. So yes, it's possible to upgrade a dual-core 2.0 to 2.3.
    Dual 2.3.png
     

Share This Page