Dual CPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mavericks7913, Dec 24, 2016.

  1. mavericks7913 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    When does Mac Pro use dual CPU? Only if I use specific programs like Premier pro? I recently notice that the 2nd CPU is always hot while the other one is quite cool and I assuming that Mac Pro does not using dual CPU all the time.
     
  2. MarkC426 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    AFAIK it will only use all cores with multithreaded applications, or if you have many programs running at once.
    i.e. rendering, audio etc.
     
  3. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    only apps that can scale past the first cpu and cores on the first cpu.
    some apps are not even relay able to scale past 1 physical cpu thanks to coding it seems.
    see the compleat lack of scaling past 1cpu (most the time) in Premier CC
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-Premiere-Pro-CC-2015-3-CPU-Comparison-849/
    even AE cc is slower most the time on dual cpus
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-After-Effects-CC-2015-3-CPU-Comparison-847/

    and some nice charts showing the demolishing returns with core count and cpu count
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-After-Effects-CC-2015-3-Multi-Core-Performance-843/

    but yes some apps will scale better with cpu/core count & most normal apps will use 1-3cores max
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    The second CPU is hotter than the first because it's behind the first so it's getting cooled by the warmed up air from the first.

    You can determine when your Mac Pro is using which CPU by installing software that monitors these things, such as iStat.
     

Share This Page