Dual D-Link Routers or will one do?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tapple, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. tapple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Silverdale, Washington
    #1
    I'm in the process of returning 'home' to apple units. Right now I have a Dell Dimension pc connected to a D-Link DWL-925 (AirPlus XtremeG) router and a card in an Inspiron laptop along with a hp printer working off the system. The router (+Motorola modem via Wave Broadband) have worked without error for several years.

    Within the last month we've purchased an iMac and macbook...and a new D-Link Xtreme N Wireless Router, Qos..802.11n unit (based pretty much--right or wrong--on comments in MacForums vis-a-vis the airport extreme unit.)

    I'm puzzled??

    1. Do I get/attach a splitter cable to the modem and try to run both D-Link routers (assuming this is possible without fritzing-up whatever is now working? Or

    2. If I plug the iMac (or Dimension PC) into the new D-Link Xtreme router will I need a new card for the Inspiron laptop for it to function in a wireless mode? (Or)

    3. Please straighten me out re either keeping the two mini-network systems separate or building a single network...

    I'm sure I've probably left some critical "in front of my eyes" information out of these remarks..please don't beat me up too badly if I have.

    All help will be more than appreciated...ted
     
  2. jclardy macrumors 68030

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #2
    I'm pretty sure you should just replace the old wireless router with the new one. It should support 802.11 B/G/N so the older laptop will still be able to connect.

    Unless you want two wireless networks for some reason...
     
  3. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #3
    You can just replace the router with your new one.

    However the laptop will only connect as a standard 802.11g device and you won't have any extra benefit from the AirPlus XtremeG wireless laptop adapter card.
     
  4. tapple thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Silverdale, Washington
    #4
    Dual D-Link Routers or will one do?

    My thanks to both jclardy and iBecks: the new router will be just fine.

    Kinda of a related Q. Time machine Back-up/Storage:

    Does it make sense to go with the Costco 1.5 TB Seagate Free Agent and reformat it ($109)--should be doable...or invest ($180 or so) in Seagate's Mac-Silver ST315005FJA105-RK?

    [I think both have Firewire 800/400 capability should I decide to use either.]
     
  5. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    I have a Seagate Freeagent and was more than happy with it. My router went bang and I ended up buying a Time Capsule so I use that now for Time Machine and it's very convenient, especially for laptop users.
     

Share This Page