Dual display

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by englishman, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. englishman macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #1
    Is it possible or will it be possible to have dual external displays on any of the Apple laptops?
     
  2. Chipg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #4
  3. reputationZed macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I believe the MBA only supports a single external display. Not sure if this is a limitation of the Intel graphics or the TB chip used in the MBA.

    Edit - http://www.anandtech.com/show/4542/eagle-ridge-the-cheaper-optionally-smaller-thunderbolt-controller
     
  4. englishman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #6
    Thanks I guess that means no for MBA at present anyhow.
     
  5. EthanMiller macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #7
    I'm using an external on my Air right now - it works fine. It's only a 19" that I had sitting around, so not the hardest to drive, but it works fine. I know others run the 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display on it without problems either. You just need the appropriate Thunderbolt or MiniDisplayPort to VGA/DVI/HDMI/Whatever adapter.
     
  6. englishman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #8
    Yes the problem is running two though.
     
  7. Chipg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #9
    Is the Matrox product BS? I dunno, I have heard good things about it for running two monitors from 1 air...

    I do not own it but am thinking about buying it, any threads here about it? The video looked great.

    Thanks!

    Chip
     
  8. jsolares macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #10
    It should work, but i guess it also depends on the resolution of both displays, there's even one for 3 external displays.

    He could also use one of those usb to vga/dvi things
     
  9. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #11
    There are USB to DVI/VGA adapters that you can use with your MBA so that you can have another external monitor, aside from the one connected to the DisplayPort. I use one from Kensington, and it works well, but there are other manufacturers. These devices use DisplayLink technology. However, the Lion drivers from DisplayLink are in Beta and have some issues. If you're using Snow Leopard, there are no problems with it.
     
  10. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #12
    Matrox Dualhead2Go or TripleHead2Go.

    It works fine. Daisy chaining using TB is what doesn't work because the MBA only has the single channel TB chip so it can only send 1 video signal.

    The Matrox expects 1 video signal and it converts from there to your multiple monitors.

    The Matrox solution is also better than a USB external GPU because it uses your DP/DVI bandwidth which is much greater than USB and uses your internal GPU and its fast VRAM (system memory in the case of the MBA) rather than having to copy stuff over the PCI and USB buses to read the framebuffer.

    With the Matrox solution, you can power 2 monitors at 1920x1200 resolution easily or 3 monitors at 1920x1080 (this one at 50hz only, which is bad!)
     

Share This Page