Dual Displays - why?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by HooHar, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. HooHar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #1
    How many photographers out there are using dual displays. I've never used a dual display set-up and can't see the attraction compared to say a large 30" Cinema Display - however - those using them seem to swear by the benefits - could anyone out there persuade me it would be a good idea? :confused:
     
  2. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Because you can get a secondary display (or 2, or 3) for a fraction of the cost of the ACD 30", and more 'width'. I kind of like being able to drag an image or what have you off to the side - I get an eerie satisfaction watching it cross screens too.
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Aperture has a specially optimised dual-screen mode. It's meant to rock. Shame I've only got one screen :(
     
  4. BrownSquirrel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Ooltewah, TN
    #4
    I have that same satisfaction.

    The dual screens help me stay organized. I am a visual person and if I cant see most of the items that I am using in one project than I get a little frustrated. Seems like there are more options with dual screens too.

    You can use FCP on one screen and Live Type or Motion on another.
    If you have the horse power.
     
  5. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    I never thought much of dual displays, or what I would ever use them for until I hooked my 20" ACD up as secondary monitor for my new 24" iMac. At first, I thought jeez, I have this huge screen now, did I just waste $20 bucks on an adapter? Then, I started to realize the possibilities, and frankly, I'm hooked!

    Three things that I could no longer do with just "one" screen:

    1. Run Aperture - it's designed for this, and it rocks having palettes on one screen, photo on other, or multiple photo's, whatever.. it's great!
    2. Final Cut - LOVE having my Canvas on the 20" as a full screen viewer, and having SO much room to play with the other windows and stuff.
    3. Fusion - Love running my work VM in full screen mode on the 2nd display. It pretty much feels like having two computers on my desk.

    There are a lot more uses, but for me, I could no longer live without dual displays for just those 3! :D
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    I have a 30" and I have to tell you I thought about two 20"s or 23"s. Point is I was looking at space and such and found that had I not been able to deal with the resolution of the 30" I would have gotten two 23"s. It allows for things to be a bit bigger and still get that real estate you'd get with a 30". I don't know if that makes sense but it does to me. ;)
    Yes, Aperture is nice in dual screen but it didn't deter me from buying one 30.
     
  7. Brianstorm91 macrumors 65816

    Brianstorm91

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
  8. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #8
    I'm perfectly happy with my single 30" ACD; maybe one day I'll experiment with hooking up a second ACD just to see how it works but I really prefer looking at just one screen at a time!
     
  9. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #9
    I ran two 17"s for a few years and would never go back to a single display. Now I'm running a 30" and one 17" (rotated vertically). It's fantastic.

    It really comes down to putting the palettes and tools on the 17" and doing the work on the 30". It gives me a great workspace.
     
  10. Daringescape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #10
    The short answer is once you go with dual displays, you wont go back.

    I have dual 19" displays and sometimes wish I had a third.

    I have a friend who has a 24" that he runs vertical alongside a 30" - I get jealous every time I go to his studio.
     
  11. heiesuke macrumors newbie

    heiesuke

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #11
    I'm not paying all that money for a 30" when I have my 32" and my 20" side by side. All the real estate I need.
     
  12. plumbingandtech macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #12
    You really need to try it. Once you do you will laugh at yourself for even asking...:D
     
  13. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #13
    If you are editing video is is very nice, no almost required to have a TV set as a second display, not a computer monitor but a "real TV" so you can see what the show is going to look like.

    I head a story about Neil Yong. When doing studio work he has the habit of making a tape and taking it outside to listen in his pickup truck. He has a point, that is how is fans will hear his music. This should be applied by everyone who makes content of any type.

    Just last night I loaded up a digital picture frame for my parents for Chistmas and set it up to look. Gosh was it horrible, the contrast, color, black point was so far off on that cheap LCD screen. But the images all looked good on my calibrated computer LCD. So I had to go back into Photoshop and re-do 102 images to make them look horrible on my good monitor. And man, they did look bad,

    So, bottom line, you need a display device that mimics you final delivery device. I think this is the only reason to prefer two screen to one 30" screen
     
  14. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #14
    When I post-process my images on my 30" ACD I then go and fire up my 20" G5 iMac to view them on there, as there is a significant difference, and then I make necessary adjustments. I also review them on the 23" ACD, too, but usually they look pretty much the same on that monitor as on the 30" one.
     
  15. Gav macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #15
    Wouldn't the obvious solution here be to buy two 30" ACDs? :rolleyes:
     
  16. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #16
    That's the big reason... right there!

    This is the second reason. If you do more than just shoot stills, you might find yourself needing a second display. Final Cut Pro, Avid Media Composer, Aperture, and Adobe Premier were meant to live on two displays and make it easier for you to get at the things you need.

    That's the goal. My paper has a 30" and a 20" on two stations, and a 23" and a 20" on two others. I would have just given everyone dual 23" or 30" monitors.
     
  17. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #17
    I'd love to use two screens, but since my work machine is a Macbook Pro I don't think there's a way to do that... :(
     
  18. bc008 macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
  19. Ryan1524 macrumors 68000

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #19
    Dual 24" is cheaper than one 30" and gives you more space.
     
  20. Daringescape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #20
    I have a macbook pro and run dual monitors all the time.

    Just add a monitor and set it up in the display properties.
     
  21. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #21
    Sorry, I meant two external monitors. I know I can use an external monitor alongside my MBP's screen - but at work I have access to larger, higher-def displays if I want them.
     
  22. AndrewMorrell macrumors newbie

    AndrewMorrell

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Location:
    Shaker Heights, OH, USA
    #22
    My main machine is a MacBook Pro 17", so I have limited screen real estate by default. I have been toying with 2 screens, and a week ago, I rented a 23" ACD, and am totally hooked on 2 screens.

    In addition to the dual screen optimization with Aperture and Photoshop, I have found that having a screen totally devoted to the photo I am working on is liberating and allows me to totally focus on the work I need to do.

    But, I use a Wacom tablet, and have it devoted to the second screen only, so the resolution and accuracy is everything I hoped it would be.
     
  23. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #23
    I use two 30" ACD's for photography. I often run Nikon Capture on one for RAW editing, and Photoshop PS3 on the other for layers all the other little things NC NX won't do as well. Or Adobe Bridge on one monitor and Photoshop on the other. Also nice for running Windows and OSX full screen on either. For other work flow, like writing papers, it's nice to have lots of room for all the research data to be spread out and still have room to write in Word without having to sort out all windows.

    No question that 2 large monitors is a luxury - you can certainly get by with one monitor just fine - it's just really, really nice. I don't use both all the time, but it sure is convenient when I do.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #24
    I only have one monitor, but Spaces gives me more desktop when I need it.
     
  25. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #25
    I currently am using a 20" Cinema Display, and a 17" Studio Display ADC. I primarily use the 20" for general use, and the 17" for iTunes [movies or music] or for my pallets from Ps/Ai.
     

Share This Page